Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Poopy Kitty Defense

by burquitlambadgers - Jam Entry

Burquitlam Badgers presents "Poopy Kitty Defense", a juicy arcade game that lets you embrace your inner pooping cat!

How to play:
* For laughs, keep all sound on!
* Defend yourself from mice using your "special skill"
* Click to propel yourself with your poop and avoid the evil mice and turtles.
* Drop poop on enemies to gain points.
* If you have 6+ mice on either side of the screen, the lethal rainbow turtle will come after you!

See how long you can last in the endless sewer of poop!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#65Humor(Jam)3.63
#210Fun(Jam)3.27
#246Audio(Jam)3.34
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#438Innovation(Jam)2.85
#454Mood(Jam)2.93
#497Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Sound is rather loud!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

That turtle rocked me!

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very funny but I wasn't very good at it haha

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

lol, I wonder how did you get the idea for the game xD

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Crapped my pants laughing!! Can't see though tears of exaltation! My sides hurt.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

Haha very funny little game! The Shark got me :(. Loved the music, good work!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

I admit I had some fun for a time, although my inner cat prefers non-pooping fun generally

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36am

Tricky! I'm not a huge fan of (literal) toilet humour, but the game is fun to play and difficult. Nice job!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

This was a shitty game.

Ha ha ha ha. In all seriousness I liked it. Like many others, toilet humor doesn't really do it for me. But you went so extreme in that direction that I laughed. Fun, easy to play, interesting. The turtle is cool.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

That was a stinking good time

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

Pretty funny, nice graphics. Good work!

TeamInCharge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Holy cr@p! I love the way the cat looks somehow apologetic. The cats that play this game in my garden never express any regretful acknowledgement of their daily offences! Fairground music is the way to go, absolutely! :) And the toiletrol pooping indicator is inspired.

Five farts for humor :D

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice idea, but I don't understand why the kitty falls quicker than the poop. You overtake your bullets!

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:50pm

The art is adorable, although this is a surprisingly challenging game with no way to avoid obstacles if you blow through your "meter" too fast. Way to stick with the joke all the way :)

Hiku says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Haha nice :p

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:49am

Could use some laxatives, it's a little too hard. :D

LTPATS says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This was pretty tough and enjoyable for me (those turtles could get pretty nuts eventually)! I also really liked how the music seemed to slow down and lower in pitch whenever the player loses, it's a nice touch!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]