Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DeepGlow

by SzRaPnEL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story: You emerge in deeps. As you find your way arround you shortly noticed another beings. As you approach you feel happiness and than you become one. But it seems life isn't perfect and union can't be obtained with all beings. Evolve and spread union into the depths!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#445Innovation3.22
#852Mood2.65
#856Fun2.67
#881Audio2.06
#895Overall2.83
#932Graphics2.58
#1033Humor1.64
#1158Theme2.19

Comments

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice game. A bit more explanation on how the gameplay works would be nice, but looks cool :)

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

A nice idea! Pretty Hard

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Pretty cool, Took me a while to realise you needed to stay on the yellow squares to collect them. The different enemy types were a nice touch.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Took make a little while to figure out what was going on. I think I figured it out.

I felt that it didn't really spawn enough yellow things. I felt there were long periods of time where I was just sort of sitting there, or just trying to avoid things.

Also, I think it may have been spawning some things off screen, or at least right on the edge. Sometimes I saw a bit of a yellow or red box that was barely on the screen.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

First of - I like the variety in creatures. That's really interesting to see.
But it needs a lot more work on balancing. It becomes a clusterfuck pretty quickly. That being said, it's a game that throws you back into the action as soon as you lose, so I can forgive that.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I like the different styles of the enemies. I enjoyed it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Interesting, but I had no idea what I was supposed to do.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Interesting concept. Difficult. The noise the green guys make gets crazy. It wasn't clear to me how to collect the yellow ones, needs more feedback. Sometimes it seemed to work and sometimes not.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Isn't one of those noises from Metal Gear Solid? I don't think Compo rules allow that...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Interesting gameplay and very striking visuals

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Needs a little work on pacing, I felt it went really slow until it almost exploded with activity. Also, I don't think ripping the Metal Gear Solid alert sound effect counts as your own assets :)

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool graphics. Metal gear sound ftw.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

I like the minimalist art style and the control, but I found it confusing, I didn't really understood everything, but keep it up :)

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

man, this Metalgear sound.. always haunting me! But a cool concept. Keep it up!

Norman12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:14am

Not working. Just black screen

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

Seems like it took a while between yellow dots appearing, and the pink ones were really annoying. I love all the different enemy attacks, though! (Are those really your sound effects?)

Naouak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I don't think you can use that sound from Metal Gear for compo.

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Metal Gear Solid alert sound is an accent to the game :)
But I want to stay compo legit, so I'll swap the sound with my custom alert.

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Had a tough time figuring out how to collect the yellow beings, a sound on successful collection would have been nice.

Kimau says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Loved the mapping of behaviours to colours. Audio was terribly sharp and annoying. The different creatures added real interest as I learnt what they all did.

jaxonf92 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:05am

Awesome game :)

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:33am

Was pretty hard to understand what is going on here
Looks good

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]