Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unearth

by Ben Whittaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is... not really a game, but I've been really drained this weekend.

Original concept was a multi-layered pseudo-3d planet, which you have to mine using bombs to collect gems, and which contains buried monsters you would inadvertently unearth.
Also, actual art assets.
As it is, I managed the pseudo-3d planet part. It's still kind of neat looking.

Arrow keys to move, X to jump.

Written using Haxe and HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#634Innovation2.95
#762Graphics2.84
#1083Theme2.40
#1260Fun1.47
#1261Overall1.95
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

Hmm can't really rate it since gameplay is missing..

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Not much of a game indeed, but i can see how this could be used as a fondation for a game. Nice feeling.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

don't be so hard on yourself. This is a little basic, but it's still a highly impressive tech demo and a great jumping-off place, if you were so inclined.

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice idea, no gameplay though.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Very neat concept, I would love to see this made into a full game (I love the art style that even such a basic test has begun to develop)

May 4, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The concept is great, and the projection really helps you to see 'beneath the surface' in an effective and unobtrusive way. Would have liked to have seen the full concept!

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Great!
I really like what you did here! Do you share the source?

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:14am

I like the effect-pseudo 3d effect, right?-. Anyhow there are not much things to do for players. ;( sad

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Good core concept. Now it just needs the game play. As it stands it's a nice tech demo though.

mikale says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Yeah nice idea, I at least wanted a sword to collect though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]