Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hold On To Your Nuts

by PartyBoat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hold On To Your Nuts is a game about a chipmunk collecting nuts and storing them underground.

___CONTROLS___

Movement: WASD
_______________

I've completed my first game ever! There were about 50 other features planned including shooting peanuts, lawnmowers, and epic music, but that's the way these things go I suppose.

The only borrowed asset was the free font Visitor by Aenigma.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#312Humor2.85
#657Fun2.91
#767Graphics2.83
#876Overall2.86
#892Audio2.03
#956Innovation2.53
#1058Theme2.46
#1100Mood2.28

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

The title and theme of the game made me laugh out loud. The way the snakes bounce off of one another makes for some real challenge, preventing you from just remembering or waiting for patterns like most other games. Plus, it's a chipmunk, and how many games feature one of those. Nice job.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Cool game! The sounds were a bit scary though (loud)

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

SO MANY SNAKES. I like the snakes. Very enjoy the loud sound and abrupt ending. I got two peanuts. And then snake.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

The game is like some form of Frogger on crack. I liked it.

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I really wanted to put some epic music in the game but I ran out of time. I thuroughly recommend listing to something like Guile's Theme (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGw8DWctAts) while you play. Have fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

Very nice! Impressive for your first game ever, especially considering Unity can be difficult with 2D games.

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

Yeah it was a lot more of a pain then I was expecting. I'd probably go with something else next time!

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Loved the visuals, that is such a cute squirrel! Fun game, very lighthearted, my only complaints are the audio is a bit jarring and the controls feel a bit unresponsive, I sometimes felt myself expecting to turn and still be running the same direction I was previously running in. Overall, I liked it, good job!

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

Oh yeah, and watch out for the snakes... right... I'll do that... (Drops nuts)

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

Fun game :) I love the squirrel and the title made me lol

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Meh. A good game but it was too hard and the movement was annoying

gapgen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

A fun little game! I am (un)surprisingly bad at it.

Torri Y says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Must... Play... More...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I couldn't get out of the menu? Looks like a good game anyways.

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

impressive game - lots of snakes! :) Good job!

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Liked it kind of, a faster pace would make it more fun I think.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Nice work :). It's clean and the pixel art is good :)

OddballDave says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:05am

Nice fun entry. Very simple, but that's what makes it good fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]