Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hi It's Julian

by baboum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This HTML5/javascript game in itself is really short, and you have to click the Download image to play it, after it appears (not a joke).
It is a reference to an ad that a lot of french people (who download stuff on the internet) have encountered : http://www.astucecherry.com/.
You should try to run it on Chrome/Chromium, Opera, and FF maybe. I couldn't make it work on my Safari.
I guess you can tell I wasn't really inspired. I spent most of my time on the first day to make the intro, and the next day I did almost nothing. I'm sorry. Please forgive me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#22Humor4.02
#40Innovation4.09
#103Mood3.73
#273Audio3.22
#364Graphics3.46
#398Overall3.33
#467Fun3.11
#1018Theme2.56

Comments

xsiimoniix says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I think you posted the wrong link: http://localhost:8888/dev/github/ld29/julian/

baboum says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:45pm

thanks! I corrected it :)

x2l2 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

web : "http://localhost:8888" ???
can you upload it to a server where we can play?

WitchLake says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Well that was kinda disturbing :D But also fun!

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:15pm

wtf

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

LOL it's a funny experience Baboum with a great idea. Flood is our common enemy which unfortunately has ruined LD site. Nice concept - I like it. THX ++

shotiris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43am

Great!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

lol what even? found it funny though

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Whoa, that was so great. Really well made!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Aww, don't feel sorry! :<

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Neat. I had to do a double-take on that 'download' page.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Wait, what are you doing?

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

The "joke" at the start put me off playing it. Sorry. :-/

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Games like this makes me ask myself why I'm never manage to make games like this! Fantastic. Replayed it and sent it to all my friends.

The only thing obviously lacking is MORE. Eternal amounts of more content. Branching absurdities. More.

Keep making games like this! Makes the rating experience so much more worth it.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

W.T.F. am I playing O_O

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

Julian and I got to know each other after that. We actually had a lot of common interests, and -- most importantly -- values. Over the years, we moved apart. I'm not really sure why. Julian and I haven't talked in a very long time.

Thank you for this experience.

baboum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Well, thank you so much for this great feedback! I didn't expect so much people to actually like it (even if some didn't, and that's cool too I guess).
And thank you for your nice comment Local Mininum. You're definitely right about the length, it is the big problem of this game. I started with a not-so-effective code base, and adding all the features that I wanted was impossible. But now that the time limit is down, I'll definitely consider making a bigger version of this, with a real gameplay this time !
Julian did the same with me, I should have warned you.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

OMG, best creative thing I played in a while!! Well done!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

Who knew Microsoft Sam could be so haunting? The ending was a great piece of interface-screw, though I can see it scaring off people!

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

This is supercool++, I cannot but encourage you to work on a longer version of the thing :D

enlarge ur game

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

The Intro is so great that the rest of the game doesn't seem that good. This idea really deserve you work more on it! I would love playing more! I want to know Julian better. I want to be his sex slave

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Haha woow that was amazing. A truly unique experience!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:56am

Dude, dont be so hard on yourself. That was really, really good. I understand what you mean about it being kind of 'all about the intro' but the mood you struck was really superb.

I think if you added a bit more 'game' this could be really super. I was pleasantly surprised by this :) :) be proud

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I got a 502 proxy error trying to play...

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

loved that intro!

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:12pm

You know what, that was pretty cool. And it seems to me that this an inspired piece. So please don't apologise.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hahaha! That was great. Definitely weird, but great. I enjoyed that. :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:20am

Haha very funny, I got scared in the beginning, thanks for making this, really nice entry.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:48am

Not sure what this is :v I thought I ran into a wrong website :v

Oye Beto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:15am

Your game thrilled me to know where it was going and I couldn't know because it was very random. More length with more mechanics would be nice.
Loved the text download as a conclusion (I was excited to open it).

This game inspires me to do something experimental and random :)

seanographies says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:15am

Very nice pixel art and animation, loved the approach you took for the theme, well done.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:06am

i have no idea what i just played, but i laughed

gnerkus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:28am

Can you make this a full game? Please.

I beg you.

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:41am

This game reminds me a LOT of something SUDA51 might do - for a lot of reasons.

It's interesting and I like how experimental it is, but there's just not much here (and yes, I got to the end).

Congrats on finishing, though and thanks for sharing. :)

Kaoin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:44am

What an interestingly bizarre game! I'd definitely play a full version!

jrap says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:13am

Um

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I didn't get a thing.

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:55pm

(But I love you)

Nelly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Haha! Niiiicee!))

zenmumbler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:31pm

BTW, to make it work on Saf, instead of using the onended attribute of sounds, attach an "ended" event to the sound elements, like sound.addEventListener("ended", func, false);

syv says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:34pm

haha bravo "Julian". j'en veux plus.
You're forgiven if you make this a full game.

lowcade says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Wow!
What happens? It's amazing game? A confusing game? It's a Game?
I feel I didn't make anything...

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Great job... the theme was done with creativity and perfection.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

High marks for being really disturbing, would have loved to see more.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

Trippy!

0Creds says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:58am

Awesome game. Simplistic, strange, and hilarious, all things I thoroughly enjoy in a game. Fantastic Job.

iambored2006 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Ludum Dare is indeed free sex. Well done!

Anoarith says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:35am

Ahah really fun game, reminds me of I'm Scared :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]