Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thrown Below

by furriKira - 48 Hour Compo Entry

^ Download the game ^

Thrown Below is a complex puzzle game built on surprisingly simple mechanics. You control two of yourself and navigate through complexities and get yourself out of the ground below.

It currently has 4 levels that shows you the first two obstacles you will encounter more in the future.

Pardon the feature of clunky controls. I've designed it that way.

Supposed to have nicer graphics at this point but I've kept it simple to concentrate on other aspects.

Simple enough. Or is it?

QUESTIONS:
If you have any questions, hit me up @furriKira on Twitter
or PM me on my YouTube channel: http://youtube.com/furrikira
or Note me on deviantART: http://furrikira.deviantart.com

P.S.: I've also included the mini-soundtrack if you are interested. (2 songs) The soundtrack might include more songs in the future.

NOTE: This is also my first time joining in the Ludum Dare and I thought this would be a good practice if I could handle game development on my own, be-it me being a Multimedia Artist in the first place.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#67Audio3.75
#176Fun3.54
#328Overall3.42
#350Graphics3.48
#498Humor2.52
#544Innovation3.08
#588Mood2.95
#1058Theme2.46

Comments

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

no linux version :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

I love the miniature graphics and the soundtrack is solid. Great work!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great game! Man, these inversion orbs make things really complex! I loved the artwork, including the sound track. Really innovative puzzle. A note, I don't know if was purposely, but the texts are pretty hard to read due to the font

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Simple, but well designed puzzles. The reversal mechanic definitely made it interesting. Would have liked to see more levels.
Also in future consider exporting to a zipped file rather than an installer.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Really sorry for everyone! I fixed the installer thing. Made it into a executable instead. I swear that was accidental!!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Clever puzzles. Good graphics and sound. I wish it was a little bit more clear who's going to go which way when you hit a direction changer. Would totally play more if you make more levels.

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

I like games like this. Unfortunately, you can complete most of the levels just by moving one of the characters at a time (and leaving the other back at the beginning).

It feels like this follows the "control more than one" theme, rather than the "beneath the surface" theme.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice concept, but the controls are a little bit imprecise.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

I love the concept too, nicely done.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

I DO enjoy when people do something different.
Like this!

A puzzle game with nice pixels..

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

Really nice game! Reminded me of The Swapper

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Great level design, cute graphics. Sometimes hard to fit into the path(In the last level). Nice game.

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:02am

Hey, I like the graphics ! Simple and clean so they don't detract from the core gameplay, but still juiced with cute touches like the eye movement. Love that deep bump sound when you hit a wall too. Puzzles weren't bad, but I would have liked to have seen a buildup with some 'teaching by doing', to introduce the player to tricks they might need to use. There are similar 'dual control' puzzle games out there, and you should definitely steal a few basic principles for level design from some. The directional switching had me stumped for a while, but I got there in the end (but was very close to quitting thinking it was impossible) - might have been better to introduce it in a situation where you don't have the threat of death first.

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:56pm

I have now rated 18 games, and this is my favourite! Very simple, yet really fun mechanic. Clean visuals. Good audio, although the sfx when you hit the wall is quite loud compared to the bg music. My only gripe is that the game is short. I was just getting into it when it ended :-(.

You should consider making this a full game imo! What you have now works very well as a demo. Add a few mechanics and 15 more levels or so and I'd call that a good, full game.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice work putting it on the steam workshop!

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:11am

I really like the graphics, music and the level design! Sweet game! :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:13am

Really enjoyed the mechanics of this, and the music is awesome! Didn't like how it's possible to get stuck on corners, would be easier if the movement snapped to a grid, but other than that it was really cool :)

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Overall this is the entry with the best polish/fun/content ratio I've played so far (83 tests). great job. You should definitelly keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]