Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DUNGEON DUNGEON DUNGEON

by urisensei - Jam Entry

We went with a metaphorical interpretation of the theme. On the surface the game looks pretty straightforward, but we based everything on hidden solutions and lateral thinking. The result is a platformer with a twist essential to the enjoyment of the game.

This was our first game jam together, and the game came out a little buggy as we didn't have any time to test and solve many issues. We plan to release a post-deadline version of it in a few days to correct bugs and add the many features we had planned but were not able to implement in time.

- Controls -
Arrows to move
A to attack
S to interact
I toggle inventory

Enjoy and let us know what you think!

The team:
Jo~ao Cabral - Programming
Uriel Cordas - Art
Pedro Rodrigues - Music & Sound
Special thanks to:
Telma Morna, Andr´e Sobral and Diogo Queir´oz.

Known bugs (aka what not to do while playing our game):
- Game freezes if you jump against the left door.
- Player animations sometimes bug and do not play properly.
- Web: In the first room there is no gravity, so don't jump. This issue fixes itself if you change to another room.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#52Graphics(Jam)4.37
#93Audio(Jam)3.77
#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#332Mood(Jam)3.12
#463Overall(Jam)3.06
#547Innovation(Jam)2.63
#569Humor(Jam)2.05
#594Fun(Jam)2.51

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

visuals are pretty amazing! though it is quite broken, unless intended, but doubtful. You can't use your weapon if you open your inventory at all, until you walk through another door, i was 'killed' by the monster at the start while he was dead, and the game did nothing and wouldnt let me move. otherwise, pretty ok!

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

I absolutely love this, but I can't really figure out what to do. Found my inventory screen, but can't figure how to actually use any items.

urisensei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

Sorry guys, we're working on those game breaking bugs (brought about by last minute) we'll update soon.

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Looks like it could be great. I fired an arrow into the sky and it froze up. The music is still playing even after killing the process.

urisensei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

You're on the right track, xbcw. We've updated the game with a few fixes, give it a go guys.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The gameplay was buggy and confusing, but the art was simply great.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Fantastic art but I wasn't able to make it past the first monster :(

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Had to smash every keyboard key just to figure out how to equip my sword :\ How-To-Play would help a lot.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Going back to the door at the very start freezes the game. Also got a fatal error while spamming jewels in the treasure room (don't ask why). Animations also don't seem to change properly with the ranged weapons.

Got to where you're um... Going insane, I guess. Thought it had to do with the clouds room, but doesn't seem like it. Oh well.

Interesting ideas. It's really clean visually, and you made good use of sound. Good job!

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Outstanding graphics and music. I couldn't really figure what to do. I got some kind of wand and I was able to beat the monster but then? I don't know. Very nice game, good job!

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Game's aesthetic aspect is great ... but core gameplay is little bit confusing

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice how you beat the monster :) Graphics & Sound are pretty good! Sadly the game breaks if i try to use the chest. Awesome entry!

voxel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26am

Can't get the OSX version to launch. OS is insisting the executable is corrupt. Tried downloading a few times with no luck. Any suggestions?

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

Really, REALLY love the art, my congratulations to the artist

schnüt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice game. Good idea with the "unusual approach" for passing the monster. I feel like I reached the end of the game, but as I could keep playing, I'm not totally sure. ^^
The instructions for controlling the player are quite hidden, I didn't realise there were more than decorations until I arrived in the room for the 20th time or so.
(For those of you as blind as me: look at the wall behind you at the start of the game. :-P)

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

@petey123567
We discussed how we would show the controls, mabye it's a bit hard to come by... Should've seen the writing on the wall.

@LemmingSurvivor
The wall crash is a collision problem, we'll fix it soon. The chest one we didn't know about, there wasn't really any time to test out the game but thanks for telling us about it! Looks like you got to an ending and were close to another one, good job!

@MidCry
Yeah, we made it a point not to have obvious solutions. We may have been too keen on that :/

@wicht
Thanks! Did you have the jems equipped when you tried the chest?

@voxel
We tested it out on a couple of macs, didn't have that problem. So far, I know of one other person who had the same problem as you, we'll look into it. We're also going to upload a web version pretty soon so you can try that one out though I can't say it won't have a few more bugs :/

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

@voxel
We figured out why you're not able to run the OSX version of the game.
You have to go to System Preferentes -> Security & Privacy -> General and set Allow apps downloaded from: to Anywhere. Then you should be ale to run the .app without any issues.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

it seemed pretty broken, looks really good though!

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great graphics, but hard to understand what i should do. Find inventory, pick sword, but don't take any damage to monster.

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

@TeamEagle
Yeah, we didn't have any time to test and debug so some things are pretty weird, but it is possible to play through the whole game.

@camlang
To damage the monster with your sword you have to hit it in the hand after it attacks with a punch.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I've enjoyed playing this. The concept is cool and the art is pretty. :)

May 2, 2014 @ 1:14am

Looks amazing, but 9 out of 10 times things go bad when you worry too much about art on Game Jams.
Nice concept nonetheless.

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Hey buddy, I can't open the app on my Mac even with 'allow anywhere'. Let me know if I can help debug. Also, thanks for attempting to play my game - if you fancied giving it another try it's now fixed for Windows :)

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=18114

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Looks great but is there more to do once you get the wizard staff?

It's a bit cumbersome to open the inventory to select the sword to break vases and then open it again to select the gems to open the doors, specially when there are so many free keys and I still had to move one hand away from the controls to press I.

Overall, I'd be interested in seeing more of this.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Please fix the game, this looks awesome!!

urisensei says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:03pm

@jhrrsn
What error do you get? And what version of OSX are you running? We've tested on a few Macs running Mavericks and we didn't encounter any problems.

@MakeAGame
No, there aren't any more items after the wizard staff. Our intention was to have a bunch of items, each of them allowing new solutions to the monster problem, but we only had time to implement the weapon items :P
Either way, there are three "endings" in the game, have you found them?

@Zccc
We're going to release a post-jam version with the game fixed and more content probably during next week. Stay tuned :)

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Love the art, and the music. So surprised by how to get past the first monster, could have used a clue. I like the hidden solutions approach, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]