Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

IlluminateTree

by IL_yoshioka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You can illuminate trees by click place to go.

==
Game Engine: Unity3D
http://unity3d.com

Sound: Otomata - Online Generative Musical Sequencer
http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Mood3.48
#472Audio2.89
#1015Innovation2.42
#1056Graphics2.37
#1204Overall2.30
#1231Fun1.81
#1262Theme1.50
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

giginet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The very good mood! Lonely darkness is illuminated gradually, I will be a wonderful world.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

The music give it much atmosphere. Other than that, it just a plain point and click. Polish this, and it'll be a great experiencing game. :)

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:52am

Nice mood to the game. Audio complements it well. Simple, but effective. Had a bit of trouble with the controls. Mouse clicks on parts of the screen to move the character around were a little inconsistent at times. Otherwise, I really liked the style you chose for the look of the game.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:14am

I guess it's just an atmospheric experience rather than a full pledged game. I really didn't see any challenge or maybe i played it wrong?

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:22am

Not much in the way of game mechanics, but the generative music was interesting!

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:59am

This game left me with some mixed feelings. Idea is very innovative and brings very good mood.

raulincze says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:24am

Mesmerizing little game. Great mood, the music blends nicely with the sound of trees lightning up and the main character is cute.

I didn't like the jump-cuts between each stage.

bitserum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:51am

This was different. Its a nice moody, click and look what happens. If you work more on graphics more this can be nice piece of game.

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Hi giginet, Thank you for your playing:) Illumination its light and dark effect is my first concept.

BlazingFanfish, Thanks. I wanted to design that this game can play easily.
I will improve this problem, I want. Thank you for your playing:D

Hi, GamerTaters, player character moving function has some problems. Moved position differs from click position causes disconfort. Thank you for your playing and advising:)

Hi, Fox_in_sox. In the end, I left message are related to theme. But if you did not recognize it or could not play to the end, this game is not good... Thank you for your playing.

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

So very pretty and moody. It felt fairly unfinished, but that kind of added to the mood honestly.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Love the atmosphere and the idea of going round illuminating trees and the various metaphors that implies. But I too struggled to see exactly how this related to the theme, or if indeed there is some greater meaning I missed.

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:14am

The particles around the trees look good.

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I liked the graphics of the trees and illumination.

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice mood. Music worked well with the minimal art. I agree with others that the jump cuts confused me quite a bit. Maybe a .5 - 1 second fade out or something instead of an immediate new level load?

Jezzamon says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:06am

Kinda interesting, but I thought the lack of a decent game mechanic let this down. Maybe if the controls/graphics were implemented a little better, this would be a cool interactive thingy - but I still feel it's far off from being a game.

I found the character pretty amusing compared to the rest of the game

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:51pm

The music effects were cool, but other than that it didn't do much

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:18am

Good project for learning Unity but it looks very raw/unfinished.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]