Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Word Digger

by MattV - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make words by dragging your mouse over them! Digging through a word reveals the next layer of letters. Only letters from the same layer can be combined. Collect powerups like rainbows, shades, missile-carrots, and more to help you out as you try to get the best score on the leaderboard!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#310Fun3.34
#414Innovation3.27
#439Overall3.30
#611Graphics3.09
#822Mood2.69
#889Theme2.84
#892Humor1.96
#985Audio1.73

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Can you try to bugfix the name entry? Chrome on OSX and it doesn't let me enter anything.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Good game, quite hard.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

I think I am bad with words... nice game!

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

@Pent - I'm not sure! It works for me in chrome OSX! I've noticed that unity web player sometimes won't take mouse input after you accept it to "run once", and you have to switch tabs and come back. Might that be the case here? Sorry! I'll try to see if I can figure anything else out.

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Great entry. Subtle but good use of the theme. I'm not a fan of the timer, but I see you have rankings so it makes it worth it.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

I'm not very good at spelling games, but nice color scheme.

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Funny game.

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Can't enter my name on OSX Chrome

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

@weazen oh no! I just went and tried on my macbook and it worked. Are you having trouble playing other entries that use the unity webplayer or just mine?

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

I liked it quite a bit, but I'm curious as to what actually counts as a word? Seems like a few times I'd get stuck and just drag the mouse around and it would count random 2 letter combinations as words.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

@aneeslol - the dictionary is supposedly the scrabble dictionary (unless there are bugs in my reading of it, which there were at the last minute and I hope I fixed).

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

I had the name issue on chrome OSX as well. I refresh and it was fine. Anyway, great game. Lots of fun.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

Don't know what language the dictionary is in. Maybe the letters need to be tweaked to allow more words to be made

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Good use of theme!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I played it 30min, very good job!
Highscore: 318!(I am 4th right now :))

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

@Doubstract - nice! Even beat my score!

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great game. Miss some sfx but it's not important for that kind of game. Great work.

Zednaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

A fun little puzzle game! A lot of stuff really stumped me, but I had a lot of fun digging for words. Interesting use of the theme, too! Never would have thought of it.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

@stenol - oh man I know! I was gonna add sfx at the end and then I was just brain dead and hungry and instead some huge bugs came up. Definitely something to do different last time. I didn't even miss sound that much until I started playing other peoples games!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

I like the concept but wow it is tough to clear that board. I had a few good rounds, but that dang Z just kept showing up!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It seems to come down to just connecting two random letters as fast as possible, as the game will often accept that.

However, the general idea is very good. Would like to see a more polished and probably a bit easier version for mobile. I think that could work really well.

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

@Lars - Yeah I think something is wrong with my dictionary code... I'm looking at the data and it seems like a lot of bogus two letter words are in there. I'll definitely have to dig into that more if I decide to keep working on this. Thanks for playing!

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

although, there are a surprisingly large number of bogus 2 letter words allowed in scrabble (the dictionary I am trying to use is a scrabble word list): http://www.scrabblefinder.com/two-letter-scrabble-words/ like come on AA is not a word!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice game- I liked the layered part a lot, great idea! The game felt solid and well polished. I had fun, and it's always fun when people add leaderboards ;)

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice! Captured my attention. I got a few words that I think aren't words. I can just drag around the game kinda cheating :P

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice! Captured my attention. I got a few words that I think aren't words. I can just drag around the game kinda cheating :P I didn't get any powerups though :(

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

@brodavi thanks for playing! on the first day it punished players for submitting bad words, but people were pretty annoyed by that. Maybe I should do the opposite and reward players who don't miss? Something to think about if I polish it more! Also yeah some of the words seem bogus (because scrabble accepts bogus words, and because I might have a bug in my word checker)

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

It seems to accept lots of two-vowel or consontant-vowel words. It's really fun though, I liked the leaderboards, how did you make them?

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

Woooooo! 302! I'm bad at these games but i'm in the highscore thanks to the two word exploit and sometimes seeing words.
Cool game, you should definately put this on mobile.

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

@porglezomp I used dreamlo for the leaderboards: http://dreamlo.com/ I'm not sure how it would scale to production but it's SICKENINGLY easy for a prototype. This is the file in my project that does all the score posting, parsing, and display and it's like ~50 lines: https://github.com/MCSDWVL/worddigger/blob/master/Assets/Scripts/ScoreBoard.cs

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

(um actually please don't look at that file since shows you how easy it would be to cheat... ha... haha... no one would do that right?!)

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

@Sparrow & @porglezomp omg! There are probably bugs but also scrabble is just THE WORST about bullshit 2 letter words. QI IS NOT A WORD SCRABBLE. I DON'T CARE WHAT COUNTRY YOU SAY IT'S FROM.

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02am

Enjoyed the gameplay. Would really love to play this on my phone!

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:04am

I like word games and this is a nice twist on the genre. I didn't have any idea what the power-ups would do though - in fact I kept forgetting I had them. Maybe a tutorial or something would help?

recursor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I enjoyed this one quite a bit and have bookmarked it for later. Very nice job and a cool take on the theme.

MattV says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

@Nic V - It will happen! @vilya - you are totally right, the first time user experience definitely needs a LOT of work if I polish this up post compo. Forgetting you have powerups is also a major problem that I have to think hard about fixing. @recursor - awesome thanks for playing!

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Really interesting entry, neat idea. Well done. :)

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:15am

Good game!

Lerc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Best I could do was 717. Needs a different way of thinking to most word games.

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:35am

This was a pretty fun game. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]