Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unblocker Man

by Rzial - Jam Entry

The city is in danger. The pipes are failing.
You must repair your pipes while fighting mutants.

- When you die and when you win, reload the page to continue playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#152Graphics(Jam)3.96
#189Theme(Jam)3.52
#254Humor(Jam)2.86
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#435Overall(Jam)3.11
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

Wacky. I like the hand-drawn look and solid colors. Couldn't quite get the hang of navigating using the map.

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I like your art style and how you used the theme - simple and a fun game, although I couldn't hear any sounds and the game could really use some.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice use of the theme and great graphics. Way too many pipes to fix IMHO...

JoshRespawns says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:22am

Great Game!

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Good game! I like the art style ! I would have like a little more spark and graphics effects on combat :) Good job !

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:01am

The map didn't seem to link with the placement of doors very well, but I really liked the graphics and it was a lot of fun!

jaxonf92 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:02am

I love the art style. Great game and lots of fun

kristof says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very nice art style. It took me some time to notice, that you not only can enter doors, but also go the opposite direction. Some indicating arrows could help.

May 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

Good Game. I missed some sounds & the minimap is very strange to understand. Anyway i like the concept, good job guys :)

Rzial says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Thank you all for your comments! This is my first Jam and I'm amazed with the high response of our game.

We put the link to the post-ludum version in our entry.

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Cool game! I really enjoyed playing it. The graphics are pretty cool.

Jiddo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Awesome graphics, animations and a cool idea! However, the combat didn't really feel fluent enough. I often ended up with enemies walking/spawning too close and making me not able to hit them.

Also, the added sound effects in the post-LD version were a nice addition.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]