Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Max Manus

by SuperChihuahua - Jam Entry

The occupation of Norway started with the German invasion on 9 April, 1940. Within a few months, the unprepared Norwegians accepted the inevitable surrender. But beneath the surface, a few Norwegians weren't defeated. One of them was Max Manus.

(Made with Unity)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#465Mood(Jam)2.90
#562Audio(Jam)2.47
#582Graphics(Jam)2.81
#629Fun(Jam)2.40
#633Theme(Jam)2.53
#653Humor(Jam)1.44
#659Overall(Jam)2.60
#680Innovation(Jam)2.26

Comments

pixelpig says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Nice! I spent a while wondering what to do though, and the enemies are hard to kill, but nice still :D

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

I liked the idea. It took me a while to find the enemies but I think with a bit polish it could be a great game. :)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

I love that 2D-3D pixel style, is really good, but the gameplay is a little weird! Love to played it anyways!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

Pretty cool, I liked the artillery at the start. Never knew Russians were so partial to green hats =p

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I like the visual style and setting. Shooting/getting shot was fun, but it felt too easy to use the bayonet and attack from above/below.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

graphics look okay, love that it's based on a true story.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

You've found an intriguing visual style here and it's not something I recall seeing before, so congratulations on the originality. I think you could definitely make the gameplay more challenging. A great job though - well done!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Liked it but was some how depressive

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Great! It's not really obvious for the player where to go in the beginning, but I really liked the gameplay, especially because it's so hard to aim.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I like the depth in the environment

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Simple and fun. I liked the graphics and the back story. I didn't like movement, I could sort of see that there were hills there, but moving around still felt buggy.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

To anyone having troubles, just hold down the bayonet the entire time. That kills enemies all around you, not just to the side, making things much easier...

As for the game, it was an interesting concept, but the flow was rather off. The snow was so slow to move in, and shooting paper-thin targets is very difficult (especially those bookcases :P). However, it was overall halfway decent.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Ok so. BAYONET O.P! gaddamn broke the combat, which is all that this game is. Weird mashup of art styles. movement felt so heavy and was just frustrating. Coulda been a great serious game, but the story was lost in the simplicity.

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice graphics and polish. It seems a little easy with the bayonet!

MyrddinsOwl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:11am

I grappled with tons of invisible walls here, since it felt mostly like a flat area, and definitely exploited the bayonet. Otherwise, it was nice to see some history covered here. Well done. It felt like there was some ambient sfx at the beginning, but then the game feels pretty silent afterwards.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Like that style.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I like the song in the beginning.
Well done. :)

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:51am

There is no visual clues if an enemy was hit by a shoot (and the player too, I had to keep checking my health points), it would be nice to have some feedback on it. It is a nice game besides that. I too noticed some weird collisions and invisible walls but that didn't ruin the experience.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]