Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lazor Fish

by REDACTED - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try and take out as many cyborg fish as you can before they get you, or you drain your own pond. Remember to aim steady, if you miss you may tear the pond liner, and then you have problems... Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#356Humor2.75
#668Fun2.89
#909Audio1.96
#941Graphics2.56
#958Theme2.70
#1005Innovation2.44
#1016Overall2.69
#1172Mood2.00

Comments

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Crazy entry! haha The fish robots(?) falling right on the player is very annoying because you can't stand a chance. I think it would be better if they came from under you.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:39pm

hehe sweet robofishezzz :D

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

DEM LAZORZ!11!
Now seriously. Simple and fun game to play, with more polished graphics would be better ;)

vilya says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

That's really quite fun! Nice simple concept, fast and frantic action - just the sort of thing I like. Graphics and sounds could have been a bit better I suppose, but the important bit - the fun - is spot on. Nice work!

Ragzouken says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Nice game :)

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

Seconding the unfairness of robots spawning almost right on top of you, otherwise pretty neat idea and I like the idea of accidentally ruining the environment around you with careless missing.

ghostmaple says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Neat idea, especially the liner/leak mechanic. The controls (laser not quite shooting where I'm aiming) and the fish falling onto me made for a pretty hard game. A bigger pond (so you have a chance to evade and not just shoot or die), perhaps some different types of fish enemies, and a few powerups for variety and you have a winner. Did I mention I totally dig that pond leaking mechanic?

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:23am

Who doesn't love a good old fashioned lazor fish??

May 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I liked that the franticness of it encouraged shooting all the time, but that it was discouraged because you would damage the walls. However, the fish spawning right next to the player made the game unplayable.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Crazy? Awesome? Crazy awesome! Somewhat simple, but pretty entertaining. Nice work on the walls and the water surface. Some of the fish dropped too quickly and were super hard to kill before they killed you. Graphics were good in their simpleness, but a kickass soundtrack would've added a lot.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ZYXer says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Haha. Funny game.

I really like that you can drain the pond. Gives quite a twist to the game.

Sometimes the enemy fish spawn too close to you and you have no time to react. I honestly never was able to drain my pool (even though I tried), because I always died due to a fish spawning too close.

It also crashed once:
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object spwn_evil_fish:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.spawnClear(100015, -1)
at gml_Object_spwn_evil_fish_Step_0

Wertle says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice solid little shooter, I liked how the lining thing mixed up my typical shooter strategy (which is normally shoot all things forever regardless of aim). My biggest piece of feedback to make this game better would be to pause a moment when you get hit by another fish before jumping straight to the You Lose screen, to allow my brain to catch up with what has happened. That will also help people to learn how much collision box they have to deal with so they can try and improve. Some extra feedback on the water going down would also help, it was pretty subtle and I was so focused on my fish that I didn't notice it. One easy way of calling this out might be a background pattern that's called out by the lowering of the water level. Nice work! Love the angry fishy faces!

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:02am

Wow, hard one! :) Sometimes fishes just spawned on my face and I died instantly, but the quick game restart makes it quite addicting, even with the really simple mechanic.

aelita1992 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:01am

Simple and dynamic :) Would be great as a mobile game, when finished :)

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:43am

Man, this was fun. It would have been more fun if there was some blood and guts!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]