Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hot Diggity

by DragonXVI - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Linux version now available (but untested)
UPDATE: Devlog now available at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/29/hot-diggity-dev-log-postmortem/

The terrifying Devourer of Worlds has come! The only safe direction is DOWN!

Step into your prototype Turbo Tunneller and get digging! Steer with WASD/Arrow keys and get as deep as you can! Collect ore to upgrade your digger, adding new components as you go.

How far can you dig?

HINTS:
- Watch out for the exploding rocks! A laser's useful for destroying them from a safe distance.
- Drills always point down, so there's little point putting them at the top.
- Overheating too much? Install a coolant tank or two.
- Devourer getting a bit too close? Use lasers to push it back!
- Best played at 1024x768, suspect it'll fall to bits at other resolutions...

Tools used:
- Unity 4.3.4 (For pretty much everything)
- Paint.Net (For pixelling)
- FLStudio 10 Pro (For Music & sound)
- Visual Studio 2010 Pro (For codes)
- Notepad++ (For other codes)
- Audacity (For Noises)

Source included should fit nicely as a Unity project, contains all the code, scenes, prefabs, textures & audio used to make the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Fun4.52
Overall4.51
#16Audio4.14
#17Theme4.14
#33Graphics4.36
#44Mood4.01
#83Innovation3.95
#295Humor2.88

Comments

igwb says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow. I love it. You should consider further developing this game. It brings two of my most beloved features together: Mining for ore and upgrading stuff (in a cool and visual non-stupid-shop-dialog-window). If this was done in 48 hours, I would love to see what more time can bring.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really very good game. Well done.

ntaso says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Really great game. Nice concept and I think the customization is what makes it so good. Keep working on it :)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Omg! It is awesome!
I have to agree with igwb

rosa89n20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

Really really fun! just can't stop play this game
but I got stuck if I build like this (https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0MTzZXzQgLkSUFXUk5pR2VPdTg/edit?usp=sharing)

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

It's awesome !!!

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

One of the best game i played on 29th ludum dare, well done, the game is too addictive, so 5stars for fun

Kirito says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Really good one game. So much for me to learn

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

This game is amazing! Sent it to some friends and they are playing the sh** out of this game. Well done!

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

PS: please make a mode without time pressure ;)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

rosa89n20: Yeah, too many drills like that and you pretty much have to start again - Didn't have time to figure out a better way of handling it. Might update with a Reset button when I've time

Thanks for all the comments, hope ya'll enjoyed it! :D

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

Can't believe this is not a Jam game :)
This game is better than have two legs!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

This is awesome! Although, I got stuck after installing a coolant system... Really solid work. I really like the modular design of the drill, making it all sorts of wonky when things are added. Props! :D

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

If it was me choosing, i would hand the Ludum Dare straight to you. Well done good sir.
PS: develop it further.

sirikan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really like this game. Was actually looking forward to playing it from the screenshots you posted during the comp :).

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

Master craftsmanship. 5x5 stars.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09am

M-A-S-T-E-R-P-I-E-C-E. Can't stop play this game, such merge of action and strategy! Must play for everyone.

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

Fantastic game! I actually had to pry myself away from the computer on this one! Very very well done!!!! =)

popogames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

This is a great game. Lots of great design choices, really fun to play more often.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

You should really continue developing this game and place it on Steam even because it's that just really good!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

Amazing game. One of the best i tried so far in all the ludum dares :D
Please continue the game after the compo ^^

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Awesome.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great fun! And amazingly complete for a LD game.

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

yeesssssssss

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

One of the best entries I've played so far ! Great job !

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Please keep developing this game. I'd love to see a full (more!)featured version! Thanks for making it!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

It is an amazing game, one of my favorites

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Ok, now that I lost a sizable amount of time on this game, I will bookmark it. To loose more time.

fantastic job

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This has to be my favorite game of this Ludum Dare, so much fun! Would love to see this on Mobile.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really great game! I agree that it should be developed further.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Loved the mechanics and gameplay. nicely done.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Interesting, interesting control, great upgrades and nice graphics I enjoyed it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Really enjoyable! Tickles the right bones.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

THE MUSIC WAS RADICAL! THE GAME PLAY WAS RADICAL! YOU ARE RADICAL!

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Pretty awesome game! The customization features are well thought and balanced. Superb job!! :)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I can see myself losing hours to a polished version of this!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Awesome! Nice music. Fun gameplay.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Another game into my TOP category!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

Wow, so much fun! I LOVE IT. Seriously, great idea, good execution, and lots of fun. I think this is my new favorite LD29! Seriously, I could already see this being successful. With more time, it could be amazing. You rock. Gold star.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

This was AWESOME! I had loads of fun just digging and upgrading! It'd be nice to have a free-dig mode, just to play with!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

This was really good! Plays well, looks good, sounds good, and the visible/functional upgrades to the miner are a really fun mechanic of the game. A lot of games just offer essentially statistical upgrades, but yours actually changes the way the miner behaves. You got a lot done, and made a pretty solid title out of a simple concept. Great work.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

This was AWESOME! I had loads of fun just digging and upgrading! It'd be nice to have a free-dig mode, just to play with!

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

You really should consider further developing this and getting it on Steam or something. I'd buy it.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

I could easily see this becoming a full game with a touch more polish.

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03am

Amazing! I have had so much fun playing this!

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

amazing job. very addictive, and great that there didn't seem to be a clear best build order or ship layout. only complaint is that for the controls felt reversed for me personally (I thought of the drill side as the 'front' of the ship, so pushing down to go forward was awkward)

John Drury says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Reallly FUNN!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

Wow, this is well done. Graphics are above average and effects do complement the presentations. Wished there was sound to make it even better :).

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42am

A pretty nice digging adventure!

Karmalis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

Wow, really impressive. Very nice interpretation of the classical digger. Loving it, will definately save it for a spare minute to refresh my mind with. Don't stop with the development for this.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23am

Like many others, this is something I'd consider developing further. You've got a great formula down: its both pick up and play and addictive.

The music and visuals work well too, only the devourer of worlds seems to clash slightly with the art style.

This entry came highly recommended, and I can easily see why.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

This is a fantastic game! All of it fits together so perfectly.

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

We have been playing this for 3 days and we keep coming back! Addictive and very fun game. Reminds me a lot of the game Captain Forever!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

Nice!!! :)

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17am

Loved this entry, really re playable if you want to try out what setup is the most efficient. As a fellow unity dev can't wait to check this one out under the hood :D

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

Super awesome! From hasty peaceful gold-hungry miner to the UBER TRAIN OF DESTRUCTION!

No, seriously, at some point you grow out of that initial haste and maneuvers and finding way with more gold, you don't care for drills, for turning or braking for that matter! All you care about is more coolers and lasers so you can annihilate everything around you while you pierce through the world! I literally play using mouse only at some point (and I enjoy doing it)!

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

Okay, this is pretty fun in a roguelike way (the focus on replayability is neat for jams). Hard to tell it's made in 48 hours.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Fantastic game. Super polished. I hope you develop this further.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

mortus: That's pretty much how my runs end up as :p A barely moveable deathtrap that can no longer thrust enough to stop falling, blasting a path through everything below until I usually hit about 8 exploding rocks and it all ends horribly :p

popogames: The code is horrendous! :p As expected there's not a shortcut I didn't take code-wise, and there's some hilarious patches to stop things melting (There's a very good reason why exploding rocks don't trigger other ones causing chain reactions - The entire game basically explodes at that point and Unity starts weeping)

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

Awesome !!! Full of great ideas, stunning graphics. A+!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Great idea! Well executed!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

My favourite so far!

voidstar69 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Wow, such a polished game! Well done, this is great fun!

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Excellent, loved it. Seems like you got the placement spot in terms of the placement of explosive rocks. Also love the upgrade system. Well done sir!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Incredibly great game. Especially for 48 hours.
Someone help me stop playing it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

This game is ridicously good! Already in its current state I see myself spending money to play this on my Ipad. Highly addictive ship customization. Easily the best game I've seen in the compo so far.

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Upgrades are cool and making some frankenstein “Turbo Tunneller” feels really really good. Congrats on this!

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

We may have a winner here

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really fun game! Love the music too. Reminds me of good ol' times playing Motherlode(: You should keep working on it.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48pm

So much awesome, great job!

Huder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I enjoyed this game well. Got to almost 350m

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very fun and addicting.

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice one, pretty addictive !

Linkigi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

This is great! You could release it now as a standalone and I'm sure it'd sell.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

What a fun Game! Really great! The music is also very cool and fits to the game. Well done!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

might be a bit hard, but this is by far the most addicting LD game I've played. good job :D

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Well, I'm amazed. I guess I'll join the others in saying, this is great... this is FUN. :D

Graf_Grun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Best game.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

This would be great on mobile!

eskivor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I love this game ! Very cool ! I could play it for hours. (my actual best score is around 250 meters)

eldog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Ho ho, this looks good. Wish I could play but I'm on Linux :(.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This is the most fun I have had playing a Ludum Dare game in a long time. From the grapics and sound to the upgrade system, this is a well-polished entry. I agree that you should turn this into a full game.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Amazing entry, tons of fun. Well done. :)

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Just awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

really well done for 48 hours ..especially the music :)

ripatti says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

The best entry tried so far. Good job!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Hard to believe this is your first Ludum Dare! I'm jealous! This is insanely fun. I kind of wish the monster descended more slowly so I could build a massive driller. Really interesting way of handling the bolt-ons, too, requiring you to build from the core of the ship outward.

It's like a cross between the old 2-player DOS game Tunneler and Captain Forever. =) This could be a lot of fun split-screen local multiplayer, too.

longshorts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

My favorite game so far, so good! Well done!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

eldog: Oversight on my part! Fired up a Linux build that's now available, so if Unity's exporter's up to stuff it should be all good!

Thanks again everyone for the comments! :D

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

WHOA! Totally blown away!

The gameplay premise is great, the progression and vessel building is SPOT ON, and the room for experimentation and fluidity this game brings to the table is fantastic. Its straightforward too; nothing super complex but plenty of room to toy with different strategies and vessel configurations. And the presentation? Man, you even nailed it on the music.

Amazing. Just amazing.

One question though: what was up with that lone ruin-esque square I found? :o

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Out of the quadrillions of ore-mining games this competition, this one is the best I've seen so far. Very awesome polished visuals and sound, and I wasn't expecting the upgrading mechanic, which added a lot to the gameplay.

leonalchemist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

fun game, got +1000 meters :)
6 lasers and 9 coolers lol, couldnt even control the ship anymore its so heavy :P

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

Loved this game! PLEASE develop this more. Would love a sandbox mode.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

Frickin' EXCELLENT. Commercial quality -- sell this mutha'. ;D

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:55am

One of the best games I've played so far. And that giant beast reminds of something out of tubular worlds. Awesome job!

KuGrou says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

I loved it. Hope you keep working on it since I would love to see where this could go.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55am

wow, sooo cool! love the graphics and the overall mechanic of the game, well done!

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00am

This is by far my favorite entry so far. I'll go away for a bit and I keep coming back and playing it. :)

mildmojo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52am

I think I've hit my best score: 1379.10m.

It's interesting how the coolant loses its effectiveness over time. Or maybe it gets hotter the deeper you go? Either way, a machine that handles its heat just fine at first will eventually begin to overheat.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

Simply amazing!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:14am

Mildmojo: Well you've beaten my record :p (1230 odd). Yeah heat increases the deeper you go, so you end up having to pretty much constantly fit coolant towards the end. Really wanted to get a boss in around 1000m or so, like you reach the core and have to battle the Devourer while staying above a lake of lava, but was never goin' to have time to fit all that in :p

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30am

Wow 5 stars great stuff!

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12pm

This is awesome! probably favourite game I've played. Congratulations!

longshorts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:05pm

1328m!

Aaaaaand time to play something else >.>

GhostID says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Everything was awesome about this game! The theme, the GRAPHICS, the effects.. Well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Best game I've played, hands down. Look forward to having a snoop around your source to learn something.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:34am

Great entry, yeah.
I don't like such type of games because there is no finish point. But I gave to this pretty hight rating because of excellience in implementation =)

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

Awesome entry. Amazing what you managed to pull off in such a short time, this is a... well a full legit game! And it's so fun to play! Great work, really.
Super addictive too... damn! Congrats.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:54pm

A Motherload and Captain Forever mash up on steroids, I approve.

And now I've gone and player both of those splendid games again.

Not much else to say. Good work!

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

amazing game! great job!

mildmojo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I keep coming back to this one. I think the RNG was kind to me on my last run, and I hit 2016m. Finally broke the 2K barrier. So much fun.

MiscEtc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18pm

I'd love to see this made ito a full game. Great stuff.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:27am

Where is the maw that keeps destroying me? I want to gaze upon my demise. I got some golds, and I enjoyed the gold that I received.

eonarheim says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36am

Wow! This was awesome! Probably played for 2 hours straight. Incredibly addicting, you should definitely think about releasing a full game.

Managore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:14am

Really great game!

fserb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:30am

Loved this. Great job! :)

Marza says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Certainly has that "Just one more time!"-feel! You should continue developing this!

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:04am

Love. This. So. Fucking. Much.

The modular vehicle, the pixel art, the music, the theme.

Though I suck at managing heat :/

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:51am

Amazing! Played this for much longer than expected (never could get past around 200 though...)

Really love the RPG-ish upgrade system, and the steadily increasing difficulty.

jrap says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:24am

If I don't see this on steam by friday I'm going to be upset.

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43am

Awesome fun - the upgrade system appears to give it quite a lot of depth. I can't say I've yet cracked the best strategy, but I felt like I made some progress. Great achievement and I do hope you consider developing it further. (I made a Twitch stream here of my first playthrough: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4187190 - I actually wanted to keep playing at the end but thought I should move on to the next game :) ).

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Amazing entry! I loved the drill customization part, the stress from running away from the devourer and how polished it looks (and sounds). Congratulations!

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:02am

Hello, there!
FYI this game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:37am

wow - this is one of the best games of the compo I have played - it is incredible that you did this - awesome job

loxo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Awesome game, great graphics and audio! This is one of those games you can play all day long, very addictive. One thing I noticed is from time to time a flickering of the grid between the tiles.

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:56am

Best game in LD!

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:45am

Love the graphics, music, and gameplay. Fun!

Almost says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:53am

My ship sometimes rotated (to be facing right instead of down) when I added a component, which at least once caused me to die very shortly after.

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04am

Haha, my first fullscore rating! Great game! It feels like theres is some actual strategy to this, with how you upgrade your ship and stuff, super cool! My only grudge is the controls feel a bit sluggish, I guess it adds to the difficulty of the game, but I would actually like to have more control.. :( Anyways, apart from that, this game is perfect!

snooze82 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:55am

wow!

dj_pale says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:47am

One of the best games I've played so far! Very nice. Impressive amount of polish, good difficulty scaling, even an GUI and upgrade system. Thanks for providing the source!

caranha says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:05pm

this game is awesome! :-) I loved it! Thanks for the linux build.

I really like the pressure, and the opportunities that building your own ship allows. I love that you have "structures" in your world.

Things I would like to see in this game: A high score value, and a marker for your lowest depth so far.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Wow! Definitely the best game I've played so far! I can't even find something to criticize. It's just perfect!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Great game! I had a TON of fun upgrading my digger! (Until that unknown horror crept up on me..)

Very well done!

DragonXVI says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Almost: Yeah, Unity's physics goes a bit mad when you suddenly add a new collider to a physics body. I pondered destroying part of the surrounding area when you level up as a last resort, but didn't get it in.

Ditto: I had various revisions of the controls, the last thing I wanted to increase is the effect more engines has on turn speed - As it stands the code is something like turnspeed = (engineCount - totalPartsCount) * someValue, so it can only get worse or remain as it is, which towards the end results in something which barely turns at all. Didn't get time to change this to something a bit more fair, alas

Caranha: Yeah. I left the game over/menu screens till the end (Hence why they're basically some text with a backdrop) so a high-score table was dropped. Also originally I'd planned to actually have an ending, but in the end it just became an endless-digger.

Thanks y'all for the ratings and the comments :D

elefantopia says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:37pm

A Mining Captain Forever = a lot of fun!
Minimalist, perfect.

eldog says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Thanks for Linux build!

Customization that has gameplay effects is the coolest.

I mean this game is the coolest. Even though in some parts you get hot, but it is still cool.

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Pretty nice! This game need some storyline! Awesome.

burgerdare says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:34am

the controls feel a little un-intuitive. I think things would've felt a bit smoother if the left and right keys were swapped to compensate for the fact that the player will be upside-down most of the time.

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:34am

Skating down, drilling into blocks kept me alert. Seeing the consequences of how I could skate and drill after attaching components to weird places fascinated me. If you continue to develop this, I felt confused when distinguishing the magma blocks from the blocks that make the coin sound, and the blocks that unlocked an upgrade.

TijmenTio says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Haha this is awesome!

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:01pm

That game is good.
Customization is great, and digging is good.
Controlling the laser is not easy with a trackpad.

You should work more on this game. I want to play it on my tablet (really, i'll buy it).

radmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

Wow, definitely the most fun game I've played this LD. So addictive! I love the strategy aspect of figuring out a good build order. Also apparently the laser autofires for a split second right after you buy it, so uh, don't buy it when you're about to die. ;_;

DragonXVI says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:43am

ethankennerly: Yeah, I got a bit carried away with the glowing effects, and ore *can* spawn in the magma blocks, which results in a big glowing mess that could be money or could be a horrible explosion and is in fact both.

radmars: Bit of input state bleed I think, The Laser also stays on if you level up while firing it, but I believe I removed it overheating. Think I left the Devourer still moving when you're in the shop by accident too - Pretty much 80% of the bugs are the levelling system :p

paps says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

wow! that game is awesome! love the mechanics, the music, the art, well everything. Ok I need to play it again

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:15am

Really well done. Everything here feels pro.

Clavus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Great game, very addictive too :)

May 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Super well made game. I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Wow. You nailed every category (except humor :). This is the most impressive entry I've reviewed so far. Good job!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Woo! This is great. Love the graphics and the concept. Nice take on the theme too.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:03am

Quite a game! Seems kind of harsh at the beginning, and I fought the controls, but I love the music and art, and it's fun to play.

May 17, 2014 @ 10:23am

This is one of the most awesome games I ever played! I would buy it if it was commercially released!

What I liked the most was the upgrade feature, it really shines your game! =D

DragonXVI says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:33am

200 Ratings! Thanks to everyone that voted and enjoyed the game! :D

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:38pm

What can I say, this is by far the best entry I've personally seen - it's addictive, slick and amazingly complete considering it's done in 48 hours by one person! There isn't much to criticize here - I suppose the art on some of the elements such as the devourer looks slightly out of place with the crunchy pixel art look of everything else, but that is nitpicking really. The game balance seems to massively favour lasers but they're fun as hell to use. You definitely get a lot of re-playability out of the modular nature of the digger. There is lots of potential to extend this game by adding an "end level" boss that would allow you to escape to the next planet (exploding the current one? That'd be epic) where you'd get new modules and biomes. Basically this just feels like an actual game as opposed to an incomplete demo, which really gives it a strength beyond the individual parts. That said, the music in particular stands out for me :)

mechabit says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 7:35am

Well done on getting top rank for fun

May 23, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y20OlsewERU

Strandmullen says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Great game, I played for quite some time. My score is 1488.35m and my strategy was to build one laser and then ONLY coolants. Worked fine for a very long time just shooting the exploding rocks and it cleared a way. It just got too hot at the end, even with very many coolants.

Jun 3, 2014 @ 6:36am

Such a fun game to play!

whendricso says ...
Jun 11, 2014 @ 2:51am

This could easily become a huge and awesome game. Please Kickstarter this!

Senevri says ...
Jul 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

So... this game just ended in my actual Games folder instead of my 'try out ld things' folder. This game is HUGE. It's a winner. Kickstart, Greenlight, whatever. Add a little more to it - say, something like one-use - or slowly recharging .- items (a heat shield of some sort would have been nice, but maybe I'm just a poor player,) to give me an excuse to buy it on steam/desura.

sirbubbles says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:58am

Tested this under linux. Works perfectly and is also an awesome game. I'd pay good money for this.

Taitac says ...
Nov 7, 2015 @ 11:22am

Can somone reupload the source ? I'd really like to see the inner works of this. Its awesome

hammackj says ...
Apr 16, 2016 @ 1:30pm

The source link is broken, anyone have a mirror?

zwinge says ...
May 12, 2017 @ 11:39am

Dream Picture Books is a new picture book application designed for families and children. http://petushara.ru Link groups of Happy Bombs with one swipe of your finger.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]