Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mole Empire

by PriorBlue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Mole Empire you are playing a mole, who can fight other creatures (most of the time other moles ^^) and can become stronger by finding power ups and loot.

There is also an ingame editor!

And you can add new items and enemies via ".ini"-files.

I worked alone on this game, my sleeping time was around 6h or so :D.

The only borrowed things in the game is the Font (alagard.ttf) and a little LUA library to convert tables into strings (TSerial.lua).

Technical features: I implemented a tile-shader engine, which can show up to 4096x4096 tiles in realtime (zoom don't effect performance). I also combined this shader with an 2d light raytracer to cast pixel shadows.

I don't have a compiled Version for Mac/Linux yet, but you can run the ".love"-files in these systems with the love2d interpreter: https://love2d.org/

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Graphics3.91
#215Mood3.47
#235Overall3.54
#285Audio3.19
#330Fun3.30
#354Theme3.49
#542Humor2.45
#783Innovation2.74

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really great atmosphere and pretty solid gameplay. The best part is easily the editability factor, more games should have features like that. The graphics sometimes break a little but otherwise very solid.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

I like shadows and mood (sound/fx) a lot. I'm kinda bad at the game though and the character moves slowly to reset so much :D

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Everything about this is awesome! The spiders seemed to be a little too powerful though, unless I'm missing something...

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

@aneeslol: the spiders are just the beginning :D

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

Difficult and fun.
The shadows look really neat.

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

I liked the lighting effects, it gave it a nice atmosphere. I got owned though haha. Maybe a little faster movement would be nice.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really nice concept. Not many games you see with a mole as the protagonist! Great artwork though, and the shadows are very atmospheric, fitting for the character you play. Would be interesting to see how you develop it from here. Now if only moles had longer arms!

I did have a visual issue with the game though, unfortunately. Looks like a case of "shadow acne" as I've heard it referred to, where the shadow mapping results in lots of lines.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

It's... BEAUTIFUL! I loved it.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

@loggs2: the movement increases when you get the right power ups.

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

I are sirius mole doing sirius business.

Cool game, sound and overall atmosphere.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36am

Good game in style and gameplay. Reminded me of the thrill of Diablo-games somehow. So I think it will be great, if there be generation of cave for more replayability.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Graphics were excellent although it was an ultra challenge for me to nab those bats(I think bats)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

That was really fun to play and the graphics are great too. That's a good game you made there.

kikito says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

I liked the technology used, although I experienced lots of visual glitches - about once per second - (my computer is a MacBook Air, if it helps).

I confess I didn't enjoy the combat. The first spider killed me right away, I don't know if there's any strategy involved. If there's some sort of strategy, I did not find it.

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

I really dig the music! Amazing work for a compo entry. The game is hard but fun.
I also get a lot of graphical glitches on OSX.

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Great ambience. Nice little game and the shadow effect is just WOW.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42am

Fun game, great atmosphere. The shadows render the thing really nice

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

This is a great job, congratulations for the editor.
The mole hitbox is a bit weird, that's all the negative I can say about this game. Well done.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great job, the lighting and the artwork are fantastic. Fun to play!

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The shadows make the game look and feel great! Very difficult too, I was not able to kill the spiders ;p

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Excellent. Best game I've played so far. I enjoyed exploring.

The game seems to freeze for me on the "You are Death" message.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Awesome game!!! Feels very complete, and an editor!! Great sense of atmosphere created by the shadows :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Oh ! A very good game. A little like Zelda ! The music during game made me think a little about the Godfather. Nice job.
"You are death" he he.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Oh ! A very good game !! A little like Zelda ! The music during game made me think a little about the Godfather. Nice job.
"You are death" he he.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

"You are death!"

Nice game! The light/shadow-casting didn't work well on my machine, but I love what you did! Great job!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great Game! I like the shadow effects. The soundtrack fits the mood.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I am death! Badass game, I can see this really developing into more. Loved the overall feel.

whalebot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:16am

Man those spiders are OP... Sweet lighting/shadow effect.

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Couldn't get past the spiders sadly, tried 5 times but I suck :( But there seems to have various enemies, nice shadow effects, the music was perfect and the animation really worked well.
Impressive performance for a Love game, I didn't know you could do such cpu intensive calculation with it. I played a lot with the editor too, it was way better than what I use for making map. Nicely done!

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Those spiders where pretty rough. The cast shadows looked nice and smooth. Nice job.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:16am

Nice fight game I like the light system

Waterman7 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice look and atmosphere! A bit too difficult for my taste though...

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:59am

Great game. It looks good and plays well. I would replace the sound effects, as they don't go with the music too well.

caranha says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:26am

Could not run your game :-( Here is the error message:

~/Games/LD/LD29/MoleEmpire$ love mole_empire_0.1.0.love
[string "conf.lua"]:6: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: [string "main.lua"]:12: attempt to call field 'setDefaultFilter' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
[string "main.lua"]:12: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:310: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:308>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

PriorBlue says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:07pm

@caranha: I suppose you are using Mac or Linux with the Love2d interpreter. So i think the problem is, you have an older version, maybe 0.8.0? Because the "window" object is new since 0.9.0. On love2d.org you can download the newest version.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]