Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Buggy Game

by billhung - Jam Entry

Up to 2 players. More fun to play on the mobile with someone else.
Drag the bug to move, try to go home.

------
Credits(Alphabetical according to last name):
Mark Anthony
Ines de la Torre
Daniel Grant
Bill Hung
Huda Mahdi
Mehul Shukla
Miya Yazaki
Tino Zuvela

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#426Audio(Jam)2.93
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#453Innovation(Jam)2.81
#662Fun(Jam)2.31
#667Graphics(Jam)2.50
#698Overall(Jam)2.47
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Cute game. The first level is a little confusing. I had no idea how to get home after I got the key. But I realized it was also under the bark. And since you used unity I suggest making a windows exe and/or Linux build. The Web player doesn't work on linux.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

It looked interesting, just it needs a bit more work. Cool idea though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Could be a very nice game if you worked more on it! :)

billhung says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Hi all, thanks for the comments. From the player tests we observed, we noticed PC players sometimes drag the bug across very short distance, which makes the game harder to play. Please drag longer distance, as you would have on a small screen mobile phone using a finger.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The font is nice! and the voice audios is really fun!
But is hard to play on keyboard, and I lost my bug out of screen...

billhung says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:01am

play on keyboard?! O_o I've never even imagine anyone will play with the keyboard. I will keep you in mind for the next game.

kristof says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:49am

Interesting gameplay :) The dragging mechanic was very imprecise though.

Marjie62 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:53pm

A fun and potentially challenging idea. More levels would have been nice obviously. I also would have liked to see a solid (or closer to solid) line instead of those hard to follow dots. Hit boxes seemed to have some problems (I didn't always get the melons even when my character was overlapping with them)

billhung says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Yeah. That hit box problem. I blame the Unity colliders. =]

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Omgomgomg! Cool game :) I would have liked to be able to drag my character while still moving. But interesting idea!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]