Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saving Grace

by liamtwose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Saving Grace is a cute kids game aimed at children aged 7+

Centered around the Seven Deadly Sins, they are required to drag and drop their way through the 7 trials, whilst coming up against and learning important life values at the same time.

The intro sequence can be skipped with Tab or you can choose trials with the numbers 1-7.

'Beneath the surface' represents Graces heart and mind as she requires your help to pass the 7 trials.

Accessibility has been added to most of the games.
Tab = cycle objects, Space = use object / click
Escape = go back.

[UPDATED VERSIONS - BUGS MENTIONED IN COMMENTS NOW FIXED!]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#591Innovation3.02
#669Humor2.28
#861Audio2.11
#892Graphics2.63
#941Overall2.78
#948Mood2.54
#1063Fun2.38
#1181Theme2.10

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I really like the idea, and the very simple nature of it, but unfortunately I just couldn't progress past picking 5 things, whenever I picked my fifth thing I couldn't continue.

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Oh. Thats odd, that trial worked perfectly before, I probably broke it in the final mad dash lol. Will take a look and reupload :) Thank you for trying it.

You can "from the menu" press the numbers 1 to 7 to get straight to each trial. Or numpad 1 to 7 also.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Good idea, I had a number of crashes and hangs though ):

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Thanks for the feedback, now the competition deadline has been met I will endeavour to release an update.

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

... also the game is best played in Chrome for anyone else looking to play :)

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

IF you get stuck at the choosing the 5 items trial you can also press space when it says click. :)

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

NEW WEB VERSION NOW UPLOADED! The choices trial should now be fixed :)

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

NEW "OTHER FORMAT" VERSIONS NOW UPLOADED!.. also.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Hey, a nice game for kids... I thought! Then, you get to the stage where you stack the blocks to make a tower... and the game turns into a nightmare! :) That part just is a bit hard... and later on when you sort the things to do (play with others, watch dvd, tidy room etc.) I moved things around into a state that didn't allow any progress... :(
Still, a very nice idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Also, these first word from the description :
"Saving Grace is a cute kids game aimed at children aged 7+
Centered around the Seven Deadly Sins..."
That's so great, why didn't I come up with something like that... Guess I suck at making horror games... ;)

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

hey Martin thanks for your comments :)whoops! The block stacking was made quite a lot easier. Plus it does ask if you would like help ;) or indeed to give up.

LOL @ horror games. Now you point that out then yes. Although the message isnt initially about the seven deadly sins, its only IF they get through the game that they will realise.

I will give the description some more thought as it was rushed along. Thanks again. Appreciate it :)

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

I like the way you answer the questions, dragging your option to the answer. Nice work. I also could not complete the part with the favorite things.

mikhog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I really liked the box stacking thing. You could maybe have meda a few levels out of that the one in the game is pretty hard for a 7 year old to start with

liamtwose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Thank you, yes the box stacking could have a game all of its own to be fair :D I'll be revisiting it as soon as I can to relook at difficulty. I did get my two to play it both 6/7 and they found it quite difficult, just a shame I was restricted by time.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice game(s)! I got totally stuck on the 6th trial though, I just could not figure it out. Also, I totally tried to cheat on the 7th by doing something else while waiting, but the timer froze at 00:59 seconds (not the game, just the timer).
Anyway, good work!

mystakin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

This seems like a decent base for a children's game. I could totally see this being refine and expanded to handle several learning tasks. Pretty neat!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]