Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Larry The Fish

by ztgz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect stars while avoiding obstacles to beat the high score. Also try to keep Larry away from the bottle.
Movement: Arrow Keys
Shoot: Spacebar
This game is made with LIBGDX library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#312Humor2.85
#450Fun3.13
#707Theme3.09
#825Overall2.91
#867Audio2.09
#948Mood2.54
#958Graphics2.54
#1145Innovation2.17

Comments

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

I scored 36!

I like the fact you eat bread. Fish love bread.

Someone needs to sort out whoever is polluting the ocean though.

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

Fun game, very playable. I like the progression of each level (more than I expected at first).

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Heh, most badass fish I've ever seen!

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Didn't really understand why I died. Was it because of the small fishes? Why do the small fishes hurt my big fish in that case? Hard to know how to shoot. And what I was supposed to shoot. But it was fun swimming around collecting stuff!

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

That reverse control was pure evil :)
Simple game, but enjoyed it. well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

The alcohol obstacle was really smart, overall very fun game

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

Nice, I liked it!

mimiga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

despite being really basic and primitive it's a pretty fun play

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice and simple game, and actually a lot of fun to play :-).

Exergy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

That was fun!

jotson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice game. Made me laugh when I ate the beer.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Hehe, drunk fish! Also giant logs out of nowhere, haha. (wouldn't they float?)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Simple but fun!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Larry! Fun little game, enjoyed it more and more as I played. The sound effect for drunk Larry was hilarious too, good way to make it more than just dodge things that directly damage you.

flashkick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Nice progression system; it made me play more to see what was next.

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Pretty cool game. Nice progression to keep players playing :)

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I scored 49 ! Cool game ! Really nice art ! My kids would play this on mobile device :)

tompudding says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Well designed, introduced the gameplay elements gradually, and super fun! Great job

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I like how you introduced gameplay mechanics one at a time, and it's easy enough to pick up. You made a good effort at audio feedback, but there's a number of things with no feedback (picking up bread, getting hit by some obstacles, shooting, etc.), and that makes it a bit confusing to figure out what happened. Nice work!

jaxonf92 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Great game. lots of fun

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Good underwater feel. Fish movement felt a little too slow. It has some nice humorous elements.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Cute game, nice polish. There's actually a lot going on in this game, so great job. You might want to think about modifying the fish movement, maybe adding acceleration and more "fish-like" movement, that will go a long way to making this feel like a "real" game.

granut100 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I just scored 46 :D Great graphics and mood and what @KevinWorkman said about the movement.

quantumpotato says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:36am

I avoided alcohol.. apparently it reverses your controls? Upping an innovation point for that. Good scaling difficulty - one of the best compo games so far that has that right. The octopus surprised me! Unique angle on the shooting (forward and up). Seriously you had my interest on "You are the fish, shoot with space". Great job

AngryPriest says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:31pm

I get the feeling Larry has some serious substance abuse issues. +1 for deep emotional character development

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]