Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath

by Stepperz - Jam Entry

**I have added an updated version of the game if anyone is interested after playing the 72hr version :)**

'Beneath' is a turn based Rogue-like RPG. The Player is put into the position of a daring adventurer, who like many people desire to see what lies beneath.

***Web version error help is given below the game***
***If the web version still fails then feel free to download***

/////////////////////////////////////////////////
CONTROLS:
-Mouse (left clicking does mostly everything).
-Space Bar uses up one turn.
-The Pickup GUI component lies at the bottom middle of the screen and it may be a little hard to see.
/////////////////////////////////////////////////
HELP:
-The Aim of the game is to get as far down as you can.
-The Level reloads when you reach the downwards stairs.
-The Slimes get harder to kill as you descend so stock up on health potions and find a better piece of metal to cut them down with!!!
/////////////////////////////////////////////////
TOOLS:
-Intellij IDEA
-Java with the Slick2d library
-Jarsplice for packaging
-GitHub for file hosting
/////////////////////////////////////////////////

Thanks for giving it a go!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#409Theme(Jam)3.08
#499Humor(Jam)2.25
#591Graphics(Jam)2.78
#613Audio(Jam)2.11
#665Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36am

I got the security prompt, after I changed that the game still doesn't load. Hangs on a screen saying BENEATH.

John Drury says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Couldn't load because security issues.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

What OS are you running?

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I really like that auto-pathfinding

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I couldn't get the Linux download to work (on Ubuntu 13.10) but I just downloaded the .jar (OSX download) and it ran.

Once I got it running, I really enjoyed playing! I'm a huge fan of roguelikes and this was good fun. My biggest gripe was just that if you clicked when you were already walking, you had to wait to get to your first click before you would go to the second click (I would expect it to interrupt the walking and take you to the new destination).

I would like to see a bit more variety, but since there was limited time I think that gets a pass. Great game!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

thanks for the stuff explaining security issues - had that problem with so many games already and didn't get it. though the menu doesn't seem to work in the web version for me anyway

well done on the game though! i dived too recklessly :P

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

After security prompt I can't play, but I doesn't underscore it for this.

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

This is a really cool game, very in depth stats and item progression for a 72 hour game. I'm a big fan of this genre and the only way I could think of improving this is more diversified enemies and a basic soundtrack. Other than that great work!

Kaoin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Enjoyed this! nicely done path-finding and gear progression. I didn't find the turn based element have affect any of my player choices as i just went around clicking monsters. Maybe some more enemies could fix this.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Good work, a full roguelike in 72 hours!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:46am

Reminds me of pixel dungeon, if that's what you were going for? Really enjoyed it!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice game. Could use some music and more sound effects.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:23am

Good game, pretty basic, but that's expected for a game made in a short time. Graphics served their purpose, helped it create the mood. My only complaint is the lack of music. With just a bit of music (8-bit would especially fit the mood) the atmosphere would have been much better. None the less, good game, Impressive. :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

Pretty good game, simple and easy to play ;)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

I quite liked the game, a bit more variety would have been nice. Maybe just different colored slimes on later levels.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I loved a lot of this. Great job!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19pm

After playing pixel dungeon, yes very similar however i was hoping to implement a more puzzle based approach to the game eventually :)

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Good job. Works great!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice dungeon! I really enjoyed playing this and it really reminded me Pixel Dungeon :-)

May 2, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Very cool game here, i love this kind of games: inventory, RPG, etc. Great work :D

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Not a huge fan of roguelikes, but still played this for quite a while because I got to keep my inventory upon death. Encountered one bug where the item icons in my backbag wouldn't match the items though (they were off by one I think). Liked the auto pathfinding, but I think using both the mouse (for long distances) and the keyboard (for single rooms) would've been easier for me. Too many small rooms and corridors for my tastes too.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

kirbytails7 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:30am

Took a bit to get past the security, but the game was pretty fun. Having basic pathing for movement is handy.

kristof says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:34am

This is a really cool dungeon crawler! The only problem I had was, that I pressed Esc at one point (I wanted to close the inventory) and the game just returned to the menu screen and my progress was lost. Besides this frustration, the game was really fun.

MAT4DOR says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Great! Really liked it. A background music would be a great.

Threef says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Oww... I also made roguelike, but I've spent too much time on 'not fun features'. Good game. :)

DraKlaW says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:18am

security prompt is a problem for larger audience, but fun game overall ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]