Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Charly's Psyche

by Nizar89 - Jam Entry

Welcome to the mind of Charly.

In this game, you control the Unconsciousness of Charly on its journey though his Ego, Super-ego to the ID while Charly s conscience is inactive as he is in a trance state or in a deep dream.

You start on the Ego s spherical surface that continuously decreases its size. There are various objects within Charly s mind coming out from the centre of the sphere, his ID. These items represent the thought, memories of events, blockage, and emotions that are stored deep within Charly s mind.

Naturally, the Unconsciousness slowly loses its light source. It can regain its intensity by passing through objects to keep itself active. If the character loses its light completely, Charly s consciousness will replace him as Charly wakes up.

Who knows what could happen to Charly once he is back in control of his mind and body?

Credits:

MA Rohard - Graphic Artist
Adrien Wattier - Graphic Artist
Swit Khomapat - Graphic Artist
Nizar Azaiez - Game Programmer
Tom Guiraud - Game Programmer

Sources : Some elements (in the music, and the "secret video") come from internet. We don't have rights for those elements. We can change them if it is necessary.

Video : News Report - Serial Killer Script - INDUSTRY the Series (produced, directed, edited, written by Robert Resendez from GX2G Media Inc).

The mix of the music is procedurally generated with music founded on Youtube and Newground.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Graphics(Jam)3.89
#196Mood(Jam)3.46
#268Innovation(Jam)3.25
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#407Theme(Jam)3.09
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#637Humor(Jam)1.71
#662Fun(Jam)2.31
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I don't completely understand how to play, but the game has nice graphics and looks really interesting.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very interesting take on the theme. I found the sound at times to be too much and too crowded.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Very cool feel.

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

First impressions: WOW! Gorgeous! Then I saw how much was going on in the game and I was even more impressed. Then as I went on I found the controls a bit fiddly, I noticed that because the player character wasn't centred in the point of view, it was kinda hard to get stuff as my expectations and his movements weren't lining up. Got used to it after a while.

The music is fantastic, the visuals amazing.

But it's lacking some fundamental things from the gameplay: Challenge, and motivation! I have no idea what I'm doing there, the description in fact sounds like you want Charly to wake up. Which is to lose the game. Huh?

The ghostless pacman mechanic meant I could basically hold down the forward button mostly and never die. Forever. There are walls yes, but they're not really important to the gameplay.

I did find a thing for "Catherine", but I didn't know what/if it meant something.

Great art, like fantastic.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Ambiance is great but concept seems to me poor.
Nice graphics. THX ++

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

Interesting, I also considered doing a game about Id, Ego, and Superego! Somewhat laggy, but the graphics are great!

eskivor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

just weird

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Where is the game part?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41am

I couldn't play the OSX versions so I had to play on web, and it was kinda laggy
But the idea is very interesting and the gfx are amazing.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41am

Awesome graphics. Controls need some work. Please give me control of the camera. Other than that, great game!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52am

Totally killed my mac. Intriguing though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

Loads of ambiance and ripe for exploring the theme. I'm guessing time pressure cut you short?

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

Mouse aiming would've helped this a lot. Cool concept though.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

this is just oozing with atmosphere. great work.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

I didn't understand the game at all, and I was a bit annoyed that not every rock-like structure I ran into seemed to break. That atmosphere is WICKED cool though.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Wow that was pretty. The gameplay was solid too.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The graphic and music are great.

Atta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Laggy, but amazing art!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great atmosphere and concept, i wish a found something that made me go further.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

The graphics and effects are very good, but I didn't find the the other areas

aisenhein says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I don´t understand what to do. But the idea was good.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

As said, the sense of style is great, and I can see a glimmer of where the game goes, but more instruction than just 'collide with objects' is needed to enjoy it in full, I think.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Very abstract and strange entry. I liked it a lot, though it got repetitive very quickly. Not sure whether there was much more to it than walking around and smashing objects, which I did for about 20 minutes. People have mentioned finding things though, so I guess there was more.
The web version was a little laggy.

Trilby says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Fantastic visuals and sound!

Turning the character is a bit fiddly. Like others have said, I didn't get what to do. :)

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

i liked the cloudy and muffled audio, helped create a somewhat dream-state vibe to it.
Liked the visual feedback when colliding the objects and how they broke apart.
As for creating more complex goals, maybe you could have the light of the character change signaling that you need to find objects of a particular type to collide with instead of any object.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Great experiment with very special atmoshere (+polish design & sound)

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

The patient player will be rewarded with this game.

So often LD reviewers play for 1 minute just to give a knee jerk reaction so their game can get more reviews. Sometimes even I am guilty of this for really dull games. However this game was strangely compelling and didn't hold my hand and tell me how to play. Once I figured it out I had to keep playing until I beat it, and once I beat it I was quite surprised.

Do not be discouraged by the drive-by reviewers, anybody who has only played this game for a minute isn't going to appreciate it. Personally I think it was clever all around.

So far Audio is the best of any game I've played in this LD. And the mood is quite good too, clearly effort went into this. The writing could be slightly better, and the "thoughts" could be more ominous if they were read well audio files (as opposed to text covering some of the screen).

Standard players are going to take issue with the colliders on large objects, so maybe if you gave them some different texture/opacity it wouldn't feel like a bug. But these are minor complaints.

Very creative idea, plus you executed your idea well.
PS: Did you have permission to use the thing from at the very end? (I won't be more specific because I don't want to spoil it for others)

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07am

I really loved this one, a really impressive entry for such a short amount of time! The visual style is great and the concept itself is a neat idea. Great job

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

Hi, joe40001

Thanks for playing the game and congratulations for being the first to finish it. We are very happy you liked it.

We agree that many elements in the game can be improved. We like your idea of giving different opacity for giant objects, it surely would improve the atmosphere of the game

Many people complained about the controls and that's a point we identified early at the beginning of the jam: we worked during the first 24h to create a fine moving feeling but we faced many problems (rotations or physics) linked with the spherical environment.

The level design is kind of tricky but you’ve played very well and managed to unlock the "secret end". This assures us that the game is playable and not too difficult to finish. The video at the end was found on YouTube (since we didn’t have time or tools to do it ourselves). We probably do not have permission to use it. If the rules are broken, we are totally disposed to make the version of the game without it (even if it will completely ruin the ending).

Thank you very much for your comment.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hi. Reminded me of Proteus, though significantly darker. Very interesting procedural space. Like the life extending mechanic. Great job!

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:25am

Thanks for saying thanks, and to be clear I did quite like the game and its creativity behind it. :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:35am

Cool look and cool idea!

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Interesting I liked it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]