Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface of the Mind

by jtcrash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, didn't make it nearly as far as I wanted to. But as my first game I figured I did alright.

So there isn't much to do in game, it is survivalist at this point as there is nothing much to do but walk around the map. The logic may be a bit broken but the idea is if you are alone you will eventually "die" but getting swamped by crowds can set you off emotionally, so you have to avoid these situations.

Right now, nothing happens when one of your emotion bars reaches full but the idea is that you'd lose if any of the red bars goes full, or the happy bar goes empty.

Also no sound :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#741Innovation2.81
#803Theme2.96
#1007Graphics2.48
#1036Mood2.41
#1228Fun1.84
#1242Overall2.11
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

I liked the tone set by the into screen and the topic but once in the game I wasn't quite sure what was going on!

jtcrash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Added some comments up above in the notes section, this isn't the most complete game there has ever been :)

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

Agreed with Pete_H, it was a little tough to tell what was going on, definitely some interesting systems going on in there though! With some more work could be an interesting project!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

The graphics were nice (the people could have used more work, but the intro and tileset were pretty nice). That said, I wasnt quite sure what I was supposed to do in the game.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Nice one!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

Interesting take on the theme, well done for 48 hours! :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03am

I liked the concept, but felt confused about what I should be doing in game. Did the other people matter?

jtcrash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I ran out of time before I could finish this game off. But, yeah the other people adversely affect the emotion bars in the lower left. You can change your emotions in the upper right and it will affect different internal emotions. So for example, if your fear level gets too high you can switch to the frowny face to reduce your fear but will reduce your happiness.

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It's not bad for I first game continue !

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:06am

Interesting idea, a shame you couldn't do more with it

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14am

Doesn't completely convey what's going on that well, but its neat to look at!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:39am

Pretty creative idea. I think if you expanded on it, it could be a fun game.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

This is a good start. With some more work this game could become something special.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:25am

Good try for your first Ludum Dare. Keep going.

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:55am

Interesting concept, you should definitely keep working on this! Would love to see a version of this with some actual gameplay in it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]