Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mobius

by Zeta - Jam Entry

--- Mobius requires at minimum Java 1.7 to run ---

Jam entry by:

- Zeta (https://github.com/Zeta-Function) - Art, Level Design, Marketing

- SgtCoDFish (https://github.com/SgtCoDFish) - Technical direction, Programming

----- Intro for non-Mathematicians -----

You play as Blip who is tasked with replacing all missing processors in his neighborhood motherboard. Blip is not of this world; he lives on a Mobius strip (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M%C3%B6bius_strip), meaning his job sometimes requires a bit of forward thinking!

----- Intro for Mathematicians -----

You play as Blip who is tasked with replacing all missing processors in his neighborhood motherboard. Blip's universe is not like ours (it's homotopic to a circle), however is constructed from the identification of a square with opposing directions on one set of parallel sides. This construction gives us a non orientable surface which is self-intersecting in the plane, with right-handed chirality when considered embedded in a Euclidian domain. The single boundary of the surface that Blip lives on makes the smallest of motherboards infinitely long with periodicity 2. If you have a hard time visualizing this, simply consider it as the nontrivial bundle over the circle with the bundle being the unit interval.

----- Concept -----

Mobius was designed to be a puzzle platformer that relied on manipulating red platforms and walls to traverse the level, however this was easier said than done and we could not fully implement this for release, some red objects are clickable in game but are not solid. We originally wanted movement to be limited to the right direction only, however when the red objects seemed unobtainable we had to allow left movement to let the majority of levels be solvable.

----- Controls -----

D - Run

Space - Jump

P - Reset a Level

W - Use an Exit (when holding a key)

Left click on red platforms to interact with them

F10 - Skip Level

----- Getting Started -----

Download the jar file and either double click to run or run using java -jar mobius.jar on the command line.

Note: game should work on OS X + Linux, but is untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#609Theme(Jam)2.62
#683Mood(Jam)2.29
#696Fun(Jam)2.19
#699Overall(Jam)2.46

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

liked the take on the theme!

seemed a little buggy - respawned inside a wall and at one point i feel off and seemed to be walking on an invisible floor

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Interesting idea. I see what you were trying to do I think. I also fell off the world and had a lot of trouble getting onto the warp space so that W would register.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Argh, I have a game with the very same core (Mobius/Wopinz) mechanic laying around somewhere, I hoped no one else would ever think of it.

*mans up*

The game is still a little buggy, glitching through walls/ the red objects dont seem to have any collisions.

Anyway nice concept, with a lot of game mechanic potential, trust me ;)

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Good idea

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nice look and idea, but the game is a bit buggy. There are no red objects to click on, and like Ragzouken I landed on invisible platforms. So I can't really say much about the entire game. Looks promising though!

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Little bit broken, but nice.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I like this game, but felt the collision detection kinda let it down.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

It has potential, but IMHO it's really too buggy to be too much fun, sorry. I glitched through random platforms, the red platforms have no collision at all (unless that's intended), and using the warps is irritating.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

A little bit buggy. You should improve the wrap space trigger. It's kinda hard to hit that right.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Interesting. I think Blip should be a little slower but there's some nice level design.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

The idea seems like it has potential but it was really buggy. There didn't seem to be a key where it said 'collect the key', and falling off the platform got me stuck. It'd be nice to see the game fully-realised though.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I couldn't get past the first warp I pressed W, Z and every other key, it didn't work.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Certainly an original and intriguing idea but did seem quite buggy (I played on Mac). Shame you didn't have time to get it a bit more stable.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59am

Nice little puzzle game.
Like the title too.

hyouko says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:42am

Interesting concept, but very buggy - as with a lot of other commenters here, I had problems with falling off the world and with getting the 'warp' to register.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:38am

Cute and neat, love the art style!

abayb says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I wasn't able to get the first warp to work. Would love to play a fixed version of it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]