Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lights

by Seyroth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lights is a very short, replayable runner/platformer with meticulous level design and three different endings, telling a story altogether.

It is my very first Ludum Dare submission and I experimented a bit with GameMaker, thus the simplicity of the game. Unfortunately, I was unable to polish the game as much as I wanted to (if not at all), due to losing several hours debugging clumsy collision code. As a result the game has few or poor animations, no sound, and extremely simplified sprites. I hope you'll enjoy it nonetheless !

You'll find a web version to be able to play immediately, and a OneDrive link with downloads for the GameMaker Studio project, with HTML5 and .exe exports.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#464Mood3.09
#523Humor2.47
#526Innovation3.10
#596Fun2.97
#672Overall3.07
#723Theme3.07
#972Graphics2.52

Comments

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Pretty hard.

Delca says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

At first, I did not understand the 'meticulous level design' part. Then I realised I only reached 2 of the three endings. That last jump was tight :-)
Overall, I enjoyed it a lot (and even though they are simple, I liked the design of the lamps).
Great job!

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

cool...

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Very nice idea :) I like this multi-endings thing.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Oh nice, I unlocked 2 of the ends, not sure if there are any more.
The game is simple and sweet, but I did notice that I was only looking at the character itself while running the game. It kind of hurt my brain that he was that close to the left of the screen, so maybe it wouldnt hurt if you moved him a few more pixels to the right!

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice concept. If you extended this with some more levels it could be really challenging and fun.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

My stat is 2/3. Never got to see the third ending, but it was fun.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Yahou ! I've seen the 3 endings :D. You are the game I past the most time :D. The level design is great, but a little bit of sound will be a plus :). Good job o/

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Saw 2 of the 3 endings. Good game overall

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

This is hard. Dammit. I'll try to comeback to it after a long night rating games. Neat job, man!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

It's over too quickly! The controls are good and the core mechanic is fun, I just wish there was more of it!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really good idea, solid design!

littleball says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:48am

I like the action, nice and smooth. Well done

Kalabasa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Avoiding the lights was hard! I got 2)

SimianLogic says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:38am

Very polished for what it is, but very short.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]