Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Ascent

by guimonpa - Jam Entry

A first person platforming game focused on the use of tools or weapons to aid your movement.

Controls (ESCAPE to show controls ingame):
WASD/ARROWS to walk
SPACE to jump
LEFT MOUSE to shoot rockets (once obtained)
RIGHT MOUSE to use the laser (once obtained)
F to toggle fullscreen in the web player
+/- to change mouse sensitivity

My first ludum dare and also my first 3D game. Overall it went well, I'm quite happy with the result. I would have liked to spend more time experimenting with the movement mechanics though (specially air movement)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#480Fun(Jam)2.79
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#523Graphics(Jam)2.98
#569Humor(Jam)2.05
#585Innovation(Jam)2.56
#597Audio(Jam)2.28
#619Mood(Jam)2.56
#675Theme(Jam)2.32

Comments

giginet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

It is very difficult because the foot slip. Rocket jump was an interesting idea!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04am

I got to the part where you have to rocket jump up two narrowing walls with black walls on the sides, then I gave up. It's really difficult, and I could never quite get the hang of the rocket jump, at times it worked fine, but other times I had more success just spamming it.

Other than that it seemed to control well, the jump button wouldn't work at times though.

It looks good, nice complementary colors, loved the clean looking font.

Shinxs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I really liked this game, although its quite hard. Nice concept I haven't seen much games that implement this kinda stuff. Overall a good game!

thegunmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:23pm

really cool concept man, would have liked some checkpoint system though. i was just at the part i needed to make the huge jump with the laser gun but glitched trough the ground there so i got stuck....

copain says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:04am

I am so bad in rocket jump...

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:36am

For some reason I just couldn't get the mouse sensitivity to a good point and the rocket jump was really strange. It felt like being near a wall provided extra friction that it shouldn't have. I did enjoy the parkour level design though, very cool :)

Troy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:51am

I love the idea, however it was very difficult. Perhaps a bit more explanation for some sections, particularly early on? Regardless, still had fun with it. Well done!

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:53am

Basically a fun game (had me retrying levels = always good). A few things made it annoying so gave up.

- Nice clear aesthetic (though baking the lightmap is free in Unity and would have removed those jaggy edge shadows in the world geometry).
- Controls need tweaking for my taste -- the air-control thing deviated from existing expectations so took a few attempts to get up first jumps.
- Couldn't get "sensitivity" to increase (- decreased but none of shift-+, +, KP-+ increased) so was stuck with track pad needing repeated swiping just to move view 90 degrees!
- I was never good at Quake's rocket jump but I stuck with trying yours. Good implementation. That said, I didn't feel I was learning 'the details' of it so ended up mostly pointing myself backwards and trying again and again. Mostly worked but got stuck trying to cross the chasm. Probably just my lack of da skillz ;-)

kristof says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:57am

Good idea with the rocket jumping. But in my opinion, the normal jump already felt strange. The jump button didm't always detect my presses and I was not really able to predict how far a jump would go. With a few improvements to the feel of the jumping, this could be a real fun game.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:03am

nice plateformer and fun concept.

Unfortunately I can't pass 2nd checkout:
I experimented lag ad bugs in the movement and controls so I haven't fully enjoyed the game (Web version on Windows). Especially everytime I try to jump, it seems I'm already out of the plateform to I just fall.

guimonpa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I fixed the sensitivity issue and reuploaded the game, you should be able to increase it now!

I'm aware of the jump bug and it's a really annoying one. It was introduced during the last day and I didn't have time to find the cause and fix it.
I'll try to get it fixed once I have some free time.

Thanks for playing the game and for the comments guys!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:29am

Cool, slick graphics. Controls are not easiest, but great jam game.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:15am

Quite tricky to jump the right distance.

I like the simple graphics, well done.

ioboi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The rocketjump mechanic is really fun!

mrbungle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Found it difficult to judge the jumps but liked the graphical design.

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice! Now I feel like a speedrunner! Game is really hard, but after a while I started to get the hang of it. Got stuck where you have to climb a wall with grey walls on both side.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

The controls are really rough... there were a lot of times I tried to time a jump and it wouldn't interpret the input and I'd just fall/die. Eventually I got stuck on the wall propulsion bit. Not really sure what I was supposed to do there.

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:57am

A very difficult game. But I liked it! After a certain point I didn't really feel like I was solving the puzzles anymore but instead getting lucky with spamming the rocket jump.

May 16, 2014 @ 12:03pm

A game for quake 3 and portal fans! :P

I got a bit stuck on the part where you had to jump backwards in a long and narrow corridor with black walls. But after that it started getting more interesting. I got to the part after getting the laser, when you have to make a huge jump using both weapons. I made it to the other side, but unfortunately I fell through the ground there somehow.

Nice work!

May 19, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Really dig this. I was a person who kind of enjoyed rocket jumping in games like TF2 but could never find a jumping challenge map that I really enjoyed. Very nice work on the puzzles. Not to simple yet not to difficult to figure out.

The main note I had was maybe add some more detail to the walls if you further refine the game. I found myself getting nauseous because I couldnt orient myself in space very easily.

Otherwise great job. I featured it in my Ludum Dare showcase vol 4!
http://youtu.be/aFa_iU1gvTg

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]