Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

dig up the treasure

by ills - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Good luck and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#648Innovation2.93
#746Theme3.04
#849Humor2.00
#948Audio1.83
#991Fun2.48
#1041Mood2.40
#1160Overall2.45
#1172Graphics2.07

Comments

Holofire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Interesting game. Wasnt sure how to play it at first. Nice job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Great job, I really enjoy playing it ! I like the concept and the use of the theme :)

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I can't make much sense of this. Can you please create an explination and notify me (by writing a comment under my game)

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

great job! really nice concept ;)

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I couldn't understand how to play, can you add some instructions or controls?

I found left and right move me and space destroys a block. Is there something else?

ills says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Controls are described in the README file.
I will create instructions soon.

Thanks for playing!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Sorry, but I don't get it.
I can move left and right. Up uses a dynamite and destroys a block. You can do that 15 times.. but except for draining some what nothing happens.

If you had left some kind of how-to-play that would have been really usefull :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Ooops - there is a readme file!

I will play again :)

left/right arrow key - move
up - remove block over you
x - remove a lot of blocks
z - interchange blocks next to you
space - remove block in the place where you are
r - restart level

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

wan't sure what to do but obviously fitted with the theme and
i liked the graphics

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

- first level hard
- second level .. harder
- third, first try :)
.. some semi hard ones..
.. and then the lava just falls on your head, didn't get that one.

how far did i make it? :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

correction (sorry for kind of spamming here) actually made it to the "you win screen" - wonder how many people made it :)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Ok, I wanted to like this game but couldn't figure out how to play it, then I found the read me file. Ok, this is pretty cool. Level progression didn't feel right for some reason.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice game ! Not as easy as I thought :)

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Takes about two minutes to figure out what is going on. Reading the README is essential. Then it was fun and I won. I liked how you had to dig up FOR the treasure. Thanks for the game!

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice concept but the x command seems overpowered for just using 3 points.

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Unfortunately the game doesn't start for me :(
It gets stuck after the command line window pops up.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I like the graphics and the challenge this game offers. Couldn't figure out what was the idea in level 4, waterfalling seems random.

Good entry still !

ob6160 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Windows 7 x64 not loading ;

May 2, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I like how you have to dig up for the treasure xD Nice concept, this game was really fun, great work :D

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Interesting puzzles, albeit pretty hard

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Instructions would be nice.

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:23am

I had a huge problem with understanding the goal of game. Is good that you're trying to making games, next time you do it better and better - although remember, instructions are veeery cool thing ;P Pozdrowienia od rodaka, rozwijaj sie dalej! ;)

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:02am

It was a bit difficult to figure out what was the goal. Some action like the swap have absolutely no feedback if you swap same squares. Maybe you should make them flash or even better block the swap actions if both block are the same.
I think I passe the 3rd level without realizing it just by pressing a random key... I finally got blocked on the 4th one.

Good take on the classic sand game. Most of them have few or no gameplay but yours seems interesting. You shoudl try to ass bit of audio on this

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]