Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fappy Bat Cave Edition

by laker - Jam Entry

I'm trying to learn how to code, so that's why it's so bad:) I wanted to try to make a Flappy Bird clone, because I just don't posses the skill for making a good game in such a short time.

So, because of the theme, it's a bat in the cave. Sorry for the terribleness. It's my first LD and it's the first time I've made a game in under two days (I didn't do anything on Saturday).

Please don't kill me. Or do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#515Humor(Jam)2.19
#592Theme(Jam)2.66
#622Fun(Jam)2.43
#656Audio(Jam)1.64
#696Graphics(Jam)2.31
#696Mood(Jam)2.20
#711Overall(Jam)2.40
#765Innovation(Jam)1.38

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

That's a great game for your first shot. Keep it up!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Cute Flappy Bird clone. I'd suggest perhaps making the 'hop' Spacebar action stronger. Part of the challenge in Flappy Bird is balancing falling and flying, which makes it difficult. Good job and good luck in the future!

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice first entry :) try harder, work, you'll do your own concept soon enough!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

Thank you guys. It's not my first game, I started in January and it's my fifth game. But most of them took me whole month, so I'm glad I did it "so fast".

I asked for feedback for my friends while I was doing it, and for some it was too easy, for some it was too hard, so I did something in the middle. I know it's not much of a challenge, so this one is a relaxing flappy bird, not a frustrating one:P

I still need to figure out what are the relations between time and rendering loop because I had a lot of problems with figuring out the proper values.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15am

.....Fappy? not FLAPPY?

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15am

Sometimes it does not register a point when passing through a hole! Can always rely on a good old flappy clone, good work!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

@BarkingCat fappy is nicer word:P @Zeta really?:/ Will look into that, thank you for the feedback.

oal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Not bad for someone learning to code. Keep going, and code, code, code. That's the only way to improve. Good luck!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

@oal aaawww, thank you very muchestest :) I have two great mentors who can survive (more or less) my stupid questions so they were huge help when I was trying to comprehend the incomprehensible. So because of their amazing help I can now slowly deal with the problems by myself. I love them <3

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14am

Pretty good for a beginner! Keep doing the one game a month thing!

laker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Thank you:)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Got 5 points! There's nothing harder than actually getting something together and finished in a weekend, especially when still learning a new skill. Good job!

laker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12am

Thank you very much:) I've met some friends today and they saw the game on facebook and few of them told me that they played it in work with their co-workers and really liked it. It was great feeling, I hope it will give me a lot of energy:P

jellymann says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:11am

Very good for a first LD attempt (and success, too!) I got 83 points, it's not very challenging (have you played Flappy Goat?). Speed programming is a skill earned with practice. I'm trying to make a game every weekend.

laker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I know it's not challenging but I didn't want it to be, at least not that much. No I didn't, I didn't even play the Flappy Bird:) Thank you for the kind words:P I'm participating #1GAM since January and I managed to make it for each month. Now I want to take it up a notch, and make one game every week.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I like this flappy bird knock off. It still carries the addiction to play that flappy bird once did. Nice job!

laker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Thank you very much:)

raisedmedia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nice entry, plays as expected :)

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:44am

I'm sorry but this game is bad, it is very similar to flappy bird, it is not original. Thank you for joining this competition!

laker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:05pm

@Caridoc of course it's not original, it's in the description of the game:) @raisedmedia thank you:)

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:31pm

I don't think I would have done anything close to that my first time (or even my 5th) in 48h :). Keep going!

laker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:25pm

@Nizar89 you are too kinds! Thank you very much!:)

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice first entry!

laker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Thank you:))

voxel says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:48am

Fantastic first entry. The bat sprite is cool but looks like it's clipped to a square in some frames? Nice work

laker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Thank you voxel. The collision detection is calculated based on a square, so I wanted to communicate boundaries of said square to players. That's why I draw the wings and legs in all kinds of stupid shapes just so they show how wide and tall it is.

I realise that it's stupid but that's because in my mind, when I was thinking about the flight animation, everything looked great both from graphics and collision detection stand point. But when I started to draw second frame, I realised that there will be a gap at the bottom of the square and it will take a long time till the wings will get there. So I changed it to this form because by that point I was maybe 2 hours from the deadline and didn't have any art assets yet.

I want to get back to it and I would like to make better animation and better collision detection.

The other problem is that it doesn't look fluid because I don't call it fast enough I guess. I made it like that because the game was really slow after all the optimizations I could think off (which wasn't many, because I've never done that before).

So that's the other thing I want to change.

And I want to make it a little bit more challenging and add a global score for players. But now I'm trying to learn angular so it will have to wait a few days:/

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:22am

Nice try, good graphics. Better than flappy bird ;)

laker says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Awwww, thank you very much Paul:)

Khopa says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Nice graphics !
Got 15 pts :)

May 10, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Solid effort for your first LD. I scored about 10. The way you learn is doing what you did here...clone another game. Keep going, polish this up some more and then on to the nest game. This was fun.

laker says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Thank you very much guys. All of my games so far are clones of something else, because I'm trying to learn how to code first. When I'll feel like I can code properly, I will start to make games which I really want to make.

If you want to check them out then here is the link: http://www.onegameamonth.com/laker_faker

Snake has some new stuff in it, so it's not a complete clone:D

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice work for your first entry, congrats on finishing in time! :)

laker says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:34pm

thank you:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]