Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Maniac PengMaku!!

by spotco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Maniac PengMaku!

Made in 48 hours for the Ludum Dare 29 Compo by SPOTCO

Update: Added mouse controls due to popular demand!

http://www.spotcos.com
http://www.twitter.com/spotco

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Fun3.83
#165Humor3.25
#176Overall3.63
#302Graphics3.59
#304Audio3.16
#315Mood3.28
#432Theme3.40
#577Innovation3.04

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Pretty fun game. The only beef I have with it is that it is too hard to control. I got far into the child penguin stage before I died and gave up. It would have been 10x better with WASD + mouse controls.

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

Thanks! I'll probably add that if I work on it some more (kinda want to add a "challenge" mode, and I'll put it up on FGL).

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Great graphics! The controls are a bit tough. Other than that, i liked it :)

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

Neat, though steering and firing at the same time is hard. One thing that bugged me is that drop rate for 1UPs is too high - during a single round I could easily get like 5 lives before dying.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

Agreed with trueyomic, a beautiful game though! Alas, my reaction times don't get any faster as I get older. An 'old farts' mode would be welcome. :D

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

It's really fun, I like it!

halfmage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

Well done! I really enjoyed it to play this game

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Penguins that shoot whatever that is, you sir, win the internet :P

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

I'm a JellyFish Killer !!! Cool game, the controls are juste a bit hard

Nnoel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16am

Really fun game. Like others have said, the movement is difficult to master. Needs a focus button.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

Loving this game. can't say it's too complex, but the turning feels right, the graphics have a minor realism to it; i guess its the shading. The audio is fitting.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

Thanks! The audio turned out surprisingly well for being 100% autotracker.py (which I discovered 2 hours before the deadline...)

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Free-range bullet hell starring a penguin. I don't even. I like how the gameplay feels even though I don't have the skills to play this game well.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

Nice game. Took some time to master the controls, but the game play is really nice. The music doesn't fit the theme though.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice simple game, I loved giving all the fish.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I loved everything about this one.
Well done!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Your profile is Gogo from Final Fantasy 6. Awesome!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

One of the best games I've played yet! I would have liked to see more colour in the enemies, and pressing 'z' 120 times when giving the fish seems a little pointless. But other than that, great fun!

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Aww! Penguins are rad. Very simple, but I did like that there was a low punishment for failure, with a "game over" only resulting in a level restart and no serious penalty before that.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I have a soft spot for penguin games =) This was a lot of fun, good job!

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice game. If you lose all your fish when you die, then you've got a nice risk/reward mechanic, what with being able to go up at any time. Good job!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Played to completion! Being a penguin is hard. Great job!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05am

Fun Simple game!

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12am

penguin bullet hell? this is awesome :D love the way you can return to the title screen.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43am

Crazy and fast paced! I got a little bored of just spinnig in circles and shooting though.

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44am

ITS'S AN ANTARCTIC SHMUP

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:42am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Man, I love a cute danmaku game. The idea is great, it's adorable, I like the pace. Touhou controls are fine, though the penguin rotates in a way that's difficult to maneuver. Music and SFX are a bit unbalanced, too, while the backing track didn't quite seem to suit your mood.

Thing is, though, I can't really understand why I was collecting fish--I got to 46/25 and nothing in particular happened (I'm looking at the comments below--it seems that you're supposed to feed the penguin on the surface, but there's no indicator that you'd be able to do that).

Pre-post edit:

Okay, I went back and played a bit longer, getting to the baby penguin level, which I probably played about 5 times. Most of the jellyfish are clustered on the edge of the screen, hence most of the fish and powerups they spit out, and a hell of a lot of bullets. However, you have an ocean current there. Getting blown into danmaku over and over again was really frustrating, so I'd say the number one thing is, for this adorable game--do something else about the edges, perhaps? Otherwise, I love the theme, the general setup, the concept. I got pretty involved in playing! So, thank you for the experience.

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

Yay, I always wanted to play a game with whale-hunting pingus :D
Great audio and storytelling (I consider this growing the child thing a story).

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29am

A Great take on bullethell shooters! Controlls are not as good as they should be for a game of this type, but overall the game is pretty fun.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40am

Man that second level was tough, but helping the penguin to build his family was the perfect incentive to keep going right to the end. There was no way I was going to let the baby penguin down!

Really enjoyed that. Great job. If you could port this to the Vita and add twin stick controls, I would 100% buy it. :)

madflame991 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47am

+ fun and simple
+ challenging levels, with a nice story (life's tough if you're a penguin mom)
- gathering large amounts of fish gets tedious after a while

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52am

realllyyyy liked this. good energy system, diagonal spray shots took skill, liked the little beating heart hitbox.
didn't understand why bullet-time was in there though (seemed unlimited?) so i just didn't use it.
also think it'd be good if your dash could hurt enemies (either that or you die touching them, felt weird just dashing into them and nothing happening)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice entry :D , great graphics.

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:21am

Cute game, and neat idea. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Really cute, fun game! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:24am

I found this one hilarious. The giant fish that fired out huge blasts of energy like a Megaman enemy made me laugh much, much harder than I should have. Good music. Very enjoyable game play, if not a bit repetitive.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice game, the controls are fine.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:22am

Hey I mean penguins are always penguins.

Like the animations...

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Cool graphics. And challenging game.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I really like bullet hell games, just my type of game to play after work. Good job!

DonovanWu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:44pm

After I know the dash trick the game feels easier. While I used to think the game is hard, now I find the level difficulty balance is very well done and challenges players in a good way!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Holy cow this is the penguin shmup I never knew I wanted! Really nice idea with guiding the player along trough the different stages.

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:40am

Solid entry! Protip: Z and Y are switched on European keyboards - best to sample both.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:54am

Super polished controls and gameplay. The persistence and seeing your family grow is a super idea! Great job!

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Fun, and it has plot progression (of a sort)! The hitbox feels a bit big for a typical danmaku game, which makes it pretty hard to dodge some of the burst attacks.

spotco says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:18am

You're supposed to use the "dash" button to get out of the hairiest situations (you can dash to destroy bullets). It's mentioned in the controls popup, but in retrospect should have made a in-game text popup to make sure it wasn't missable.

The game's probably pretty damn hard without it!

May 6, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Controls are a bit floaty - which makes sense, but makes it hard to squeeze through gaps. Felt like more of a problem with the mouse controls, actually - keyboard ended up being easier to me.

The surfacing mechanic puts a nice spin to the idea, and takes away a lot of the frustration.

Good work.

MaesK says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Great game! I couldnt stop until I finished it! (with a joypad, it was harder with a keyboard)

It is addictive, it has a good mechanic, and it has penguins! What else could it need? :P

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:08am

Fun game! It got a bit boring after a while. Solid gameplay and great graphics though!

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

That was fun! At first I walked up to the other penguin who said "click" but I was empty. Maybe it should say something else in that case... Anyway, good work!

ActionRemix says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Whew, I beat it! The penguin seemed to be magnetized to a random direction - this increased the difficulty tremendously. Cute level transition.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Go to the surface, feed the baby, dive back into another maniacal killing spree!!

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:11am

Quite a fun Danmaku game. The controls when near the edge of the screen felt really weird though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]