Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Crypts of Fire

by Norse Games - Jam Entry

This is a game made by 2 people in under 72 hours.
The evil demon has destroyed the town! Go beneath the surface, to the deepest dungeon, and defeat the Demon!

Controls:
-A: move left
-D: move right
-W: climb ladders
-Space: jump
-LMB: fire primary spell
-RMB: fire secondary spell
-Q: change primary spell
-E: change secondary spell

Notes:
-The health bar is on the top left
-The bottom left shows the primary and secondary spells currently in use
-You only start with one spell, try and find the other three in the dungeons

UPDATE:
-Fixed game breaking bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#370Theme(Jam)3.16
#379Audio(Jam)3.04
#455Overall(Jam)3.08
#513Humor(Jam)2.20
#545Innovation(Jam)2.64
#568Graphics(Jam)2.84
#606Mood(Jam)2.61
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

nice gob, actually a good game, love the music

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

upon completion i realized how intensely fun this game is, with no obvious glitches and a fun exploitative game i couldn't say no to re playing it

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

uhhhh, eplorative not exploitative, wow

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

These controls.. man I don't know why you made them so floaty and awful, why didn't you make tighter controls? Otherwise, music was alright, graphics were funcitonal. Tighten up the controls and it would've been alright

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Pretty cool game, but hit a few bugs that made it difficult to play. First was that the enemies often times respawn immediately, i.e. if you kill something it immediately appears just above and attacks you before you have a chance to do anything. Second sometimes the enemies seem to be able to fly very fast and overrun you. Finally as I entered the third area I was immediately transported to the demon who pushed me quickly to a corner and pinned me there.

Despite this though you have made a cool game with a fairly and did get enough time to put in plot and a lot of nice touches.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

Thanks for the feedback guys!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Who doesn't love a fireballing wizard with a super human jump :D
Enjoyed it!

Norse Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:42am

Haha, thanks! Glad you did

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Awesome Game!! But i do agree that the controls need to be tightened quite a bit :)

Norse Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Glad you liked it, and thanks for the feedback!

klianc09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Yes, I really wish the controls wouldn't be so floaty and annoying. Especially climbing ladders feels really wierd.

Also at first I didn't realise that the heart was a healing spell, I thought it was just a health pickup, the game got much easier after that. But still one time I got stuck on a rat, and had no way to flee.

But it's a fun idea and the music is not bad.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:05am

Lots of fun. The controls feel a little wonky, but the idea is fun, and the enemies are challenging. The magic is a blast to use.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:31am

Nice presentation and game! movement was a bit to smooth for my taste

skppo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:19am

I am unable to run on OSX, closes on launch.

Norse Games says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:05am

Oh, sorry about that, I heard about a similar issue on a friends mac, I'll try and fix it, but I dont know that I can. I think that one of my libraries doesn't like loading files on macs

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]