Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robot invasion

by Tosic - Jam Entry

HI! My first Ludum Dare. Press WASD to move, Left mouse button to attack, and when robots stop moving, they are dead, Press ESC to quit at any time! Please note that i am 11 and that i had only 1 day and 14 hours to finish the game (because of school trip), but most of that time i spent in school or sleeping(during night), so i had really small amount of time to finish the game. To start: open downloaded folder, extract it somewhere, open it, go to Project.exe (should work!) Be generous when you vote!!!!!!!!!! :DDDDDDDD Also, the number at the bottom is your health (if you die, the game will quit) and now i have added a metal bar which you hold and attack the robots with! Added sound! ... all previous bugs (and flaws) have been fixed!!! Any comment or advice would be helpful! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#631Humor(Jam)1.76
#645Audio(Jam)1.74
#726Mood(Jam)1.90
#744Theme(Jam)1.76
#748Fun(Jam)1.88
#761Graphics(Jam)1.73
#762Innovation(Jam)1.71
#767Overall(Jam)1.78
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

I tried left-clicking, but nothing seemed to be happening!

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Crashes ; (

Tosic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The last banana, come to the enemies, left click alot of times and they will stop moving, i will add some sounds

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Can't be generous, people learn from constructive criticism in order to be a better person tomorrow ;)
Since you are just 11, you have tons of future ahead of you, so learn to listen to critics and correct mistakes ;)

1) The graphic is too wonky and confusing. I don't mind the ugly graphic but, the walls and floors are just too confusing and I can walk behind the walls too :)

2) Music is a little bit annoying when looped. Try a different kind of music for the game.

3) It is a little bit hard when you don't know if you are attacking the robots or not. Try something like the robot changes colour depending on their health or just make them jump back.

4) The GUI wasn't meant to be drawn in the game directly. You should draw it on the screen instead of inside the game.

5) Put the EXE on the front of the folders. I was wondering for a while where could the EXE possibly be at.

As a starter, you should try out 2D first ;)

Tosic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Answer to Nichii
1)I didnt have time for getting better graphic, i would place walls and floors different colur (at least)
2)In my timezone, it was only an hour i could work when i came back from school (i dont think bright in the midnight), so this is the first music i ran into
3)i cant now, but ill add robots health... probably
4)Honestly, i dont know how (i mean i do, but not for it to be that health you have, it would always be 100 or something)
5)OK!
By the way, thanks for the critics, ur right, although i wont be able to fix the mistakes for four or five days, cause im going on a vacation. And i was working 2d, but not for LD (as i said, this is my first time). But i at least hope i will be in the final results and that im gonna get some points because of my age and the fact game is 3d and has an actual real human figure inside(the robot).

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

1) If you can't find better graphic, use cheats, get it from free art sites that allows you to use their art for free. Look for Creative Commons licensed arts. And do 2D until you are extremely comfortable with programming :)

2) I suggest you to stock up libraries of free arts and musics that you can use at your disposal ;)

3) That would probably do :P

4) Google it when you have time :)

5) :D

I was 13 when I started programming, and made tons of bad games, refused to listen to people's advice, and didn't bothered to improve my skills. The fact that you are a young boy making a 3D game with actual real human figures wasn't enough.

The main point of a game is that it is fun and makes your player get addicted about it. So no matter if a game is 2D with smiley faces that are made by an old man, if it is fun, it is definitely better than the latter.

However, if you are 11 and started programming, I have few words to say:

1) You are awesome and special. Keep it up~!
2) Take in people's advice and tips ;)
3) Be as friendly as possible to other person. This will come in very important and handy later on. Don't get into arguments with the person you are interacting with ;)

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

Hi this is Isaac, the artist working for Nichii, I think this is a very good try for a game, though he is right about the flaws. Though don't take it too hard on yourself XD my buddy is very cynical with his comments, its a good try :D

Tosic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Thanks, i think, u and Nichii r awesome!

JoshOS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:36pm

For a first game attempts not too bad, but, I feel this has too many flaws for me to write about that I'm better off saying Keep practicing, you'll get much, much better.

Tosic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:51pm

@JoshOS
I will, besides, i had really, really small amount of time to finish, besides, what game hasn't got a lot of flaws?

Tosic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:59pm

and can someone show what ratings that someone has given to me? I MUST KNOW!!! :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:47pm

If you're 11 and you are writing games then you are already awesome. But take some advice from an old man: get practice by making simple, focused, polished games. Look at some of the arcade games from the early 80s. Many of them were simple and tight - learn your craft by remaking some of them with something like Unity, Game Maker or libgdx and putting your own spin on it.

Tosic says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Thanks a lot for an advice, I've corrected my mistakes, you can try the game now! :D

Muciojad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:12am

About game: there are a lot of bugs, but this is your first entry - I'll be milder. By the way I want to tell you something different:
You're young, in order to grow you need to gain experience- this competition is amazing chance to do that, it's good that you tried. Keep it up and learn every time when you can learn something new.
Listen to other people who have advice for you, try make something "strange", original, explore your skills - you will be better and better with each next effort.
I wish you good luck! :)

Mallot1 says ...
Jun 1, 2014 @ 9:37pm

WOAH! I think this game is really cool, and although not fully playable at the moment i think it is really amazing how you got the game to work 3d! I have a few questions: How long did it take you to learn 3d? and What are you using for 3d? thanks and well done! GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Tosic says ...
Jun 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I used Maratis for this game and it took me few monts to learn 3d... I guess, and the bugs, I just oversized the whole platform so it was buggy...
:D

Silly me, LOL!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]