Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sandworm Rampage

by bchan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a sandworm...on a rampage!

Gameplay

* Eat enemies while evading their fire.
* Burrow under ground, then re-emerge for a surprise attack!
* Collect power-ups to grow your tail (and gain health).
* Avoid running into buildings or your own tail!

Controls

* Move: Arrow keys or WASD
* Burrow: Space Bar
* Restart: Escape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Fun3.52
#376Theme3.46
#459Overall3.27
#483Humor2.53
#741Innovation2.81
#757Audio2.35
#952Mood2.53
#972Graphics2.52
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

Interesting variation on the classic Snake genre! :D

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

Oh man I love sandworms. I thought this was quite enjoyable, the simple rules and the way the action picks up consistently make it easy to get into.

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Some nice modifications on the classic snake formula, I liked the little +10/+30 text things that fade out. I also liked the little red projectiles. Nice job!

Fasox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Nice game, sadly the controls doesnt responds always at time...

bchan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

Yeah, I am throttling the input very slightly. The intent was to reduce the likelihood of the worm colliding with itself when the player does a U-turn. Not sure that was the wisest decision!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Lol that worm is really big! :)

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Great take on the game of snake! The burrowing mechanic feels good - it's really fun to sneak up on one of the purple shooters and jump out of the ground at the last second. I would have loved something that helped to establish the mood of the game - maybe some rampaging death metal in the background, screaming or fleeing people, a close-up shot of the worm for a title screen, or something along those lines. Nice work!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

That mechanic is a great addition to the genre, I am surprise I never saw something like this before. +1 for innovation :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This is great! It's super fun to manage the purple shooters with the health and eating people. There's a great game and mechanic here for sure. Could see something like this doing well on mobile. It's the right size. This is a great effort for LD and 48 hours. Very complete experience. Nice ramp up in difficulty, too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

That's fun bchan! I like the flow / powerups / and bullets. You could make the time underground limited to make it harder / shorter..

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50am

Nice implementation of a classic!

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Dig it... I always LOVE a game that operates of different levels like that, with submarine type "leaving" of one plane of play. That was really really cool. I could see that as a prototype for a full game easily. Reaaaally nice!!!

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Also, can't really do more for the theme than that was!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice idea and a good follow up for snake.

minism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really solid game actually, I like the combination of guys shooting at you within the context of snake. Nice job

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:08am

This was good! It's been a long time since I've seen someone make a reference or variation to Snake. You took something old, and gave it a very effective new twist. I'd say this was a great success.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]