Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SEA MONSTER: ATTACKS HUNTER

by Frump - Jam Entry

A game about pirates killing sea monsters.

Follow the compass to seek out monsters and kill them. Who knows what kind of monstrosities could be lurking in the deeps.

Like a briny captain of the sea, it's a bit rough around the edges.

Controls:
World map - W to go and A/D to turn
Battle - A/D to move left and right
Mouse to aim
Space or left mouse button to shoot

Alternate:
Press Tab to use arrow key aiming - left/right to move aim


Programming/Art: Kyle Parsons
Music/Art: Joel Miller Tansley

Tools:
Game Maker Studio
Photoshop
Electric Guitars

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Graphics(Jam)4.29
#84Fun(Jam)3.59
#120Overall(Jam)3.63
#121Mood(Jam)3.67
#131Audio(Jam)3.63
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#258Innovation(Jam)3.28

Comments

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

I really loved the style of the game, you definitely spent quite a bit of time on that!

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Had fun playing and it looks great.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

Absolutely love the monsters and aesthetic! It was a little hard to predict the shark's movements.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

It was done with quickly, but man the graphics are well done in this! Some kind of indicator for hitting the enemy would've been helpful, but I got used to things pretty quickly.

The only real technical issue I ran into was that I had to run the game maximized because of how easy it was to have the cursor leave the window while aiming otherwise.

Cool world and style. Nice work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

Beautiful game! Love the details, and the map too!

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49am

Fun game! Beautiful pixel art and great music.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

That music was so epic, really appropriate for the boss battles. Nice art too, I enjoyed the dithering!

It's a little confusing when your bullets aim toward your mouse but you can't see your mouse.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Super fun game I had to play it twice!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

This is truly the best shark/monster-in-the-water LD game in this jam/compo so far.

Good graphics and the style overall is magic!

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

I like this game very much.
At first I thought: "Why is the ship all black?" That art style made immediately more sense when the battle started.
I am no fan of the control scheme on the world map. But the fact that you have a world map where one can travel is a big plus.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

That was really awesome! The world map was cool, and the monsters were even cooler. And that battle music and the last scene, so awesome!
The only issue I had was with the aiming, the cursor wasn't shown so the crosshair movement was a bit confusing.

Dimir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very nice! Music, grafics +++++ :)))

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

Really sweet. It somehow reminded me of Monkey Island. Good work

brogrammers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

loved the art!

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07am

Controls were a bit hard to manage, but the art style is great. If you add progress and upgrades this could be very fun game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

awesome game! the art, the music, everything well done! i hope you will polish it even more in the future and we get a nice success story (- :

wish you the very best for the future!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

There is so much I love about this game. The music, the theme, the art. Its all really sweet. My only comment is that I wish I could seen when my ship is being damaged or when I am damaging a monster. I love the cannon burst shot and it would be cool to see that interact with the monster if you had more time. Great game!

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42pm

A lot of fun, I wish there was more to the game. The only problem I had was when I was trying to aim at the sea monsters my mouse would go out of the screen and I would end up clicking out of the window.

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Thanks for all the comments guys! Sorry about the bugs and inconveniences. I'm not much of a programmer and making all this in 72 hours was crazy for me. This is my first jam and the first game I've released/"completed".

I've continued to work on it a bit to fix things but I can't upload any newer builds here. Follow me on twitter for updates on it, I guess.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice art style, loved the monsters. The monster music cracked me up!

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I loved the visual style and the sounds on this one. Also the pig looking monster lol

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Great-looking game, that pig monster was awesome. I feel like the controls could be simplified, don't like having to use different key to shoot and make the ship go.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

The aesthetics are great! Really well drawn. I wish there was more feedback when attacking though. Felt like I was shooting toothpicks and paper wads.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Unfortunately, it crashed my browser 3 times when I tried to play it, always after engaging with a monster.
From what I saw though, the graphics looked nice and the rock music was awesome. Not sure about the gameplay but I definitely /want/ it to be fun ;P

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

Awesome, great graphics, especially with the monster :)

May 1, 2014 @ 11:11am

Great looking game, liked the different aspects of looking for the monsters and then the side view to fight them.

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Great visuals! The audio also fits very well. I could see some more advanced boss mechanics improve the game a lot. Overall very well done!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

That's a lovely art style you got there. I really like the colors and contrasts in the battle screen.

Also the monsters looks really good.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Dagnabbit! Wanted to play more! Looks great and plays well too! and the audio is great... So it's awesome!

wicht says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice monsters, like the pirates like travelling. Nicely done!

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I like this kind of game, where it's basically a succession of bosses.
Holy SHIT, did you REALLY code collision with land?! I think I'm overreacting. Anyway, that's impressive as well.
The thing I liked the most is the music.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:51am

Great package of a game! The monster art is beautiful, and I like how everything works. Good job!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:03am

The graphics and music were amazing! They made it feel like a world that I really wanted to explore. I kept resizing my browser with the mouse controls though, but it looks like you accounted for that with the alternate controls that I didn't use lol. Great job!

May 3, 2014 @ 11:15am

if's really fun, good work

May 4, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Impressive art and animations but I got stuck after the first monster battle. Also, controls are not consistent cause arrows make you move on the map but not during the battles. I think with a bit of polishing you'll have a great game!

May 4, 2014 @ 6:23pm

The battle part was AMAZING!!!

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Metal? Check. GREAT ENTRY!

ahmeni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:10am

Fantastic entry! Killer music and a fun game. Excellent work you guys!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Good graphics, good concept, good sound. Needs better gameplay when in combat.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:12am

One of my favorites. Having the ship shoot lots of different projectiles made it for me. Epic!

May 6, 2014 @ 7:15am

Really nice game and graphics, loved the style .Controls needed a bit of work and I wasn't sure if I was hitting the monster with the cannon.

terraco says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04am

That was really entertaining. I don't think I have played something like this before.

May 6, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Ha, this is lovely! Nice work :)

May 7, 2014 @ 12:16am

Excellent entry. The overworld part was very reminiscent of old-school rpgs. Then the battles had wonderful graphics and atmosphere. The main thing that could have been a bit better was the feedback on hitting monsters or the ship being damaged. But other than that, high marks all around.

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

Incredibly short but stylish as hell. I love it! It's clear a lot of love and effort went into making this game great instead of long, but this is still fantastic!

May 10, 2014 @ 8:48am

Short. Sweet. Style. Fun. Great entry. Loved the music and art. The battle music was LOL great. Well done.

jorgemoag says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:14pm

The art is very nice, and I like the gameplay... with a better fx-sound would be amazing

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Very very cool graphics. Nice concept and mecanism.
Missing some feedback for the player to know if he hits the monster.
The web version is hard to play because you locked the mouse. I assume it should be played fullscreen.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I liked the concept and the graphics very much.

TeamEagle says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:17pm

looks pretty awesome (especially in combat)

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:33am

I like the graphics and the battle scheme, it was kinda hard to keep track of where my mouse was on the web version and the combat could be more responsive, I didn't really know when i was hitting them haha but its really well done, good job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]