Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Raider of the depths

by BobMorate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Loot the chests from the depths of the ocean and leave the caves!

The game contains a tutorial and one level, which after completing, it will rebound to the tutorial again (it loops).

This is my first ever game made, using all Game Maker Studio, and I had a blast developing it :)

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Mood3.88
#164Audio3.47
#220Theme3.65
#251Graphics3.67
#517Fun3.06
#638Innovation2.94
#717Overall3.00
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Very peaceful, but also very buggy. Managed to glitch through a wall a few times, one such time leading to certain doom.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

This game is so relaxing! The music was a perfect choice for it and I had a lot of fun playing through. I did bug into a wall once, but it didn't lead me to my certain doom. :p

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Very nice atmosphere. I had a lot of fun playing it.

Turnipnose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Really liked the game, a lot of content(even a tutorial :O) there is one annoying glitch, when turning in close spaces I glitch through the wall outside of the level and can't get back. Otherwise really well done and even more impressive knowing, that this was your first time using game maker studio.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very cool mood and graphics

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Actually I did like it. Very chilly and down there! Only those angry squids. Those seem to have had a bad day :D I did like the music.
All in all and especially if this is your first game, good job.

J.Barrows says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:20am

Fun and great atmosphere, but the hit detection on the walls is pretty buggy

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Funny and neat!

javierecf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:32am

Nice entry, the music goes really well with the underwater theme. the controls and bouncing may need some work to get more precise, i got stuck inside a wall and died. The movement and the gameplay are solid for this kind of game.

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:10am

I loved the game. Nice atmosphere that you created.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]