Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny C

by M4rw4 - Jam Entry

Use the left and right arrows in order to move, Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#464Humor(Jam)2.33
#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#518Overall(Jam)2.96
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50
#632Graphics(Jam)2.65
#747Theme(Jam)1.71
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

ahmedmohi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

nice game , 3aaaaaaaaaaash ya ragala :D :P

greatmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Love the graphics, audio and the minimal animation, I enjoyed and it would make a great game with music visualization.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice idea to use size as a measure of damage, would love to see this developed with more mechanics where size is important (e.g. narrow paths).

eLLectron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

The player looks great, but the things we have to collect feel rushed designed ;D The music loop could be a bit better !

sink_t says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

A basic shoot 'em up game, except you don't shoot but avoid. Making the player character expand when damaged is original,
I believe, and a good idea too. It's playable, but the story and the theme is missing.

mogwai says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Like the growing over time (or was it damage?). Bonus for the music. Could use more types of powerups.

M4rw4 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:19am

No it's the damage, you have to keep your self away from growing, the big size makes it harder for you to keep going. Thanks for your feedback :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:09am

Cool little game. Gonna go over some bugs first then some general feedback.

First, I was able to get "negative" damage by collecting multiple stars at once. This allowed me to take even more hits before dying. Kinda cool in a "pro tip" sort of way, but felt very glitchy and I assume unintentional.

After the score reaches a certain point it overwrites the text beside it and becomes difficult to read (especially when it hits triple digits).

After around score 140 or so, the backdrop seemed to glitch out and I could see like a faint trapezoid shape.

Also, after about score 150 the game basically played it self. As long as I stayed toward the right in one spot, I didn't move at all and watched my score accumulate up to about 250 before I decided I would actually TRY to die and see if it worked, which I succeeded in doing by moving to the left side of the screen. Basically, if I took damage stars would appear fast enough to heal me before I could take fatal damage. I'd recommend instead of making the stars spawn when you take damage, make them spawn at more regular intervals and more sparingly. Also, you need to do a damage bounds check before healing the player.

Toward the end it felt kind of like later rounds of the original tetris where the enemies come flying at you but you still move extremely slowly. The player should probably speed up, too. You could have speed upgrades fly at the player as another shape (triangle maybe) kinda like the stars do.

Also, not sure if it's intentional or not, but all the sprites seem to zoom way out as you accumulate more score. It was kind of a neat effect I guess, just not sure if it was intentional.

Other than that stuff, it was pretty fun for a while dodging the shapes and collecting the green squares. The music was nice, but quickly grew very repetitive and tedious and it didn't loop very well (audible pause before starting over). Sound effects were so-so. Also, I wish I had a "game over" screen where it showed my score, and maybe some stats like "time alive," "damage taken," etc..

As it stands, it's just so-so. A couple bug fixes, minor tweaks, and a speed upgrade and this would've been a really cool entry. Not really sure where the theme is in this, either. Nonetheless, I still had fun playing so good job.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

The eye on the character makes this :)

Jezzamon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:09am

Instructions would be nice! I could figure it out though.

This game didn't really have anything that would make it interesting though :/

May 8, 2014 @ 9:49am

cool concept

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]