Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Treasure

by EpiphanyG - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A browser based puzzle game made with HTML/CSS/JavaScript/jQuery. This is my first ever Ludum Dare entry.

jQuery used for speed of development though would probably end up being removed if I had more time. No sound/music sadly.

The "story":

You have returned to the secret place where you froze your treasure beneath the surface

Click/tap on the blocks to melt the ice and find your treasure before the torch burns out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#345Theme3.50
#487Innovation3.15
#837Overall2.89
#848Graphics2.70
#955Humor1.85
#968Fun2.52
#1088Mood2.30

Comments

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31am

Nice idea btw. And i loved the mechanics. The torch wasn't scaling down initially and at last it scaled down exponentially !!. Anyway i wished a smoother gameplay would've improved it a lot, with clicking and dragging sort of gameplay. It was a good attempt. :)

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

Great idea! I like that there are 'junk' items that can fool you into wasting your fire. I also agree with monsterkillu that the torch didn't scale down at the start and then it went down heaps, but that's my only complaint about the game. Great job!

Michael Grand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Bit of a problem I ran into: If you spam-click on an ice block, the match will continue to burn down even after the entire ice block has been revealed (and the treasure inside recovered if there is any). Other than that, it's a fun small game :)

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Original. I often think there's no way someone will make something that hasn't been done. Thanks for proving me wrong.
Great idea. Slap some sound and music on and give it a few levels + some polish and get in on the app store or google play. Should get some downloads. Keep it up!

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Great first LD entry! I got fooled by a fish bone the first time but won my second go 'round with 33 seconds to spare.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

It is a great first entry for LD. I know you will do even better next time. Great job and I hope you are enjoying LD. It is a nice game even without music and sounds. The graphics are better then what I can do.

stoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

Simple idea but a lot of fun. It's very hard, but I wouldn't make it easier as I think it would lose its appeal if it was too easy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice entry, really innovative. Maybe you should add some sound or visual feedback, and as already mentioned, if you click tons of times the match just stay there and consumes itself

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Quite simple and random. Also it would be better if there was some timer showing how mush time you have left. I like it that you can have a queue of tiles to click on :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice idea, but too much based on luck. If there was some ability to help me out, it could be a lot more fun!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

Other than some minor input lag, the game is pretty neat. Really cool to see some ice based concepts.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

Interesting idea, and the graphics are nice, but a little too luck based for me. Not sure what you could really do to change that though!

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Holy crap! That was close!
http://puu.sh/8tq62/346655098c.png

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Pretty good, although the time limit wasn't clear until it was too late for me. :P

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This is really cool, especially for your first LD. Great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Great use of theme, really fun! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Cool idea, nice to see something that is not a digging game for a change ;) that shoe tricked me into believing it would be a coin and I lost! Overall a fun and different game. Good job!

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17am

Checked this one out. The controls could be improved, now they weren't as responsive as I'd like, I needed to wait for some time before the torch reacted.

With fancier graphics, more effects, animations... something like this could actually be really fun for kids to play on an tablet device.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:02pm

First time I tried the game was unresponsive and just going all over the place at random. But after a quick refresh everything worked as expected :)
Some sound would have been nice, but other than that this is a solid, fun entry! Good job! :D

pLaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice concept. I like how the length of the torch indicates the remaining time. A thing that bothered me was that every click/stap stacks and blocks me from further interactions.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Once I got the fact I should be slowly, rhythmically clicking on the blocks to keep the torch in place it all fell into place. Initially I thought the torch had a life of its own!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Not bad. It's a bit overly simple, but at least you can beat it with raw strategy and no reliance on luck.

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

nice idea

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21am

So I was going to suggest that you swap the cursor FOR the flame because I felt the controls were making it difficult, but on my third attempt (after reading some of the comments) I was able to beat it with time to spare.

It's definitely easier once you keep the flame moving and once I got that down, I enjoyed that it actually feels like you're melting it a bit and moving on to somewhere else so that you can see - just like you'd have to in real life.

I think there's a lot of potential here. Nicely done and thanks again for taking the time to play/rate my game. :)

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice game! Only remark I would have is that the melting animation takes a bit to long

Gabriel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:18am

I really like the main idea! As some of our fellow devs mentioned, it is a bit too simple as it is, but it's a great base to expand on. The thing on queuing commands is very interesting, as is the hidden strategy that you slowly starts to uncover (maybe a second layer of implementation of the theme?). :)

Overall, my only complaint is that you have to rely too much on luck even if you optimize your melting path to avoid travelling long distances and maximize visibility. Maybe if tiles that were adjacent to buried objects were different, it could add some extra complexity to the game, as it would favor the strategy of not checking ALL tiles. Another interesting twist would be if there were random walls placed on the board that made your torch have to go around them to reach other areas, losing time in the process! That would make it a lot more complex, as you'd have to manage your systematic exploration of tiles in the context of different shapes of local areas.

Anyway, I see the potential of a really fun puzzle game. Do let me know if you further develop it, I'd love to take a look!

Cheers

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:26pm

A couple things that might help polish this up: Some kind of feedback when you click on a block to indicate "you have selected this block the torch will go there next" so that it doesn't feel like a bug when I click and nothing immediately happens. You could also use this to indicate if there's a limit on how many blocks you could queue up. Not sure if it's intentional for the puzzle, but not being able to see through the flame to see what I'm melting can be tricky. Good job on your first Ludum Dare entry!

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I'm missing the challenge. After I've made a small hole in each iceblock I can easily see where the treasures are.

Marjie62 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:25pm

A cute game. It seems like a natural time management game, but it wasn't quite fast-paced enough. I got confused the first time about the torch movements being queued up. I clicked all over the place and was like, why is torch not moving?? Then I realized it was just really delayed because it had a huge queue of actions. It might be nice to see what the torch's queued actions are and be able to remove them - or else not queue them at all and just give it a current and a next action to take.

Anoarith says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Oww, it's funny because I found a game using the same mechanic here : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34427

Nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]