Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

HAPPY FRIEND

by Loon Of Nature - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make sure to read the GameJolt description for instructions

Okay probably should have clarifiied: Once the mouth is in a full smiling position (corners of the mouth reaching the corners of the black block), you're done. I assumed putting in a win screen was bending the 'typo' exemption too far.

I noticed the 'typo' exemption, and used it to fix the mouth animation. I was using values between 0 and 1f assuming they'd be converted to 0-100. But they're not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#606Humor2.37
#676Graphics2.97
#925Innovation2.57
#1041Mood2.40
#1218Theme1.93
#1245Fun1.70
#1260Overall1.97

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

I don't get it.
I can move the cam around fine, but mouse left click does nothing, I did not find a way to interact.

Read instructions twice..

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

this is weird. i like it

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20am

Maybe I'm missing something, but I can't seem to really do anything. I imagine you're supposed to destroy or move the blocks away, but left mouse click doesn't seem to do anything

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Really crazy model but yeah.. despite reading the instructions I'm still not sure how to do anything beyond moving the camera.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

I don't understand what to do, clicking doesn't seem to do anything

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Erhm. I dont get it. Left clicking does nothing for me too. But i liked how psychodelic it looks.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

I can't seem to interact with your model. Camera controls would be easier with mouse.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Although I have no idea how to play this game I love the way the head looks!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

Cool looking head, but unless something is wrong on my end the left click doesn't work at all.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)


I love the psychedelic graphics! Like the other people here, though, I really couldn't figure out what to do. What is the probe for? Why am I clicking? How do I make the poor manspider smile?

Cool model, though. It was fun to play with!

TowelKing says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:32pm

really creepy model, i like the brain jiggling.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Read the controls, still have no idea what to do. That face sure is freaky though!

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I don't get it too. The cubes move around. Should it be like that?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]