Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from Rigel 12

by Damian Schloter - Jam Entry

So here's my first LD game. Thought I'd take it slow and just do the jam. The controls are as follows:

WASD and mouse to move
left click to interact
F1/F2 to increase/decrease mouse sensitivity
F3/F4 to increase/decrease sound volume

Here's a caveat, the core mechanic of the game is a massive drain on performance after a while, so I would recommend playing on powerful machines only. The code is quick and dirty. Sorry about that.
It's also quite short, I guess, depending on how quickly one can find the way.

Should you decide to try it out please do let me know how it went. I'm not quite sure if the solution is at all easy to figure out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#22Theme(Jam)4.05
#48Innovation(Jam)3.84
#77Overall(Jam)3.74
#118Fun(Jam)3.49
#192Humor(Jam)3.07
#192Mood(Jam)3.47
#223Graphics(Jam)3.76
#385Audio(Jam)3.03

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Clever game! Very funny how you tunnel through with a fork. :p good job.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

This is hilarious, nice!

MidCry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Good Job ...

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I really, really enjoyed this one.

However, I wasn't sure if there was a way to beat it. I got outside, but don't sure if that was it. Digging around at random I later found a room that looked different, but i started glitching through the blocks and nothing seemed to happen. It looks great, though! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Very interesting gameplay! I got caught on stuff really often, but other than that pretty good.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice game :) It just lags a lot when trying to dig for a while!

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38am

Loved the destructible terrain. Great first entry

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Funny digging with a fork xD Great work on the game :D

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Great first game. I couldn't find my way out before my computer melted but was a neat idea. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Nice mechanics. The fact that it's a spork makes me laugh.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Really fun!

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

That has to be the most powerfull spork ever. Fun idea, would love to see it expanded. I kept digging until eventually I found my way to a glitch.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

It looks good and the mechanic is pretty fun! I got stuck in an open space a few times though, and couldn't make my way to the surface.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Pretty fun game!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Very cool game. The digging mechanic is amazing. I got up to the top but there was only a locked door. Wish I could've gone through it. Probably a pickup I missed...

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

What's that spork made out of?! Couldn't get very far without too much slowdown, but fun idea!

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Cool idea!

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:16am

Runs kind of slow on my laptop. But good game.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Very good concept! The visuals and the sounds are nice as well. I could not find anything in the level though. I went down, maybe that was my problem. Also my frame rate slowed down significantly after a short while. I would like to see this as part of a bigger game. Good work.

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

really neat idea! great execution too! i noticed the web version got very very laggy as i progressed as you pointed out but still very cool

friken says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

great work.... I really wanted to get into the metal area. hearing footsteps in there was a nice touch :)

May 20, 2014 @ 4:12am

Hey, thank you all for playing and voting! I made top 100 overall!

So, I understand that most people didn't figure out how to escape. That's okay though, seeing as this was a bit of an experiment and also not all that well thought out. Anyway, you can follow the drainpipe coming from the toilet and/or the noise of the guard's footsteps along the metal hallway to get out.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]