Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Foundation

by riv_roy - Jam Entry

Explode the derelict structures.

WASD / Arrow keys to movem
Mouse to Aim
Left Click for Explosions!

Made by
Tim Rurkowski (@Trurkowski)
and
Mark Swick (@Riv_Roy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#271Theme(Jam)3.36
#354Audio(Jam)3.12
#356Innovation(Jam)3.04
#446Humor(Jam)2.38
#480Fun(Jam)2.79
#530Mood(Jam)2.79
#548Overall(Jam)2.90
#578Graphics(Jam)2.82

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

hm. interesting idea! I thought this was going to be complicated and annoying, but it was quite fun! though the boss was quite a disappointment haha, but the music was awesome! And wow that end cutscene took foreevverrrrr... also praise helix.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Nice job. I like the music, but it wasn't really clear where you were supposed to go.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

it takes soooo long to respawn after you die. its suprisingly addictive tho and i ended up beating the whole thing! great level design and music GG

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

Really sweet, mechanics were pretty solid. The music was great, and the ending was greater (I like turtles). Nice job guys!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

The movement felt a tad unnatural, but I liked the bomb-throwing mechanic. I hope you'll work with this conept more in the future :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nifty looking background! Plus explosions.

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:13am

Neat little game. Explosives as a weapon in games is an idea I really into. The controls felt a little mushy, but it wasn't too difficult to get the hang of them. Your tilesets are really interesting to look at. Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:30am

Playing this with a touchpad was something.

The monster things tended to blend a bit with their surroundings; I'd often get hit before I noticed they were even there. Some animation of any sort would help make them pop out more. (A 2-3 frame loop, some kind of particle effect, anything really.)

Overall, physics could use some more work, but it otherwise played well. Good job!

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:17am

I like the level design for the 3rd level where you throw the dynamite down the passageway and baiting the flower into the hole.


Just needs to polish up and finish everything (animations sounds etc). The core gameplay mechanic works but needs a little tweaking to be more exciting.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Interesting concept, and nice game. I think it would be even better if you worked on the jump mechanics a bit.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:45pm

It doesn't do anything for me. I get stuck on trying to press any key, mashing every key on the keyboard results in nothing :(

M4rw4 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice game, idea and soundtrack.. it needs more declaration before starting the game :)

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:42pm

It felt like the explosions were not that powerful, but other than that a great little game. Well done!

oxysoft says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:30am

Bad physics but the idea was pretty cool. Would of made a great game if the execution was a bit better. Music was cool too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]