Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape to the Surface

by Zephyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I finally finished it! It's my first Ludum Dare and first complete game. I'm pretty happy with how it turned out all things considered. The goal is to escape to the surface using your trusty grappling hook before the rising lava swallows you up! Be careful, this is not an easy game!

W - Jump
A/D - Left/Right
Space(hold) - Grappling Hook
Mouse - Aims Grappling Hook

Spoiler Alert! I also made a quick video of myself playing through it. People have been saying that it's very difficult, and I just wanted to prove that it is beatable. The astute among you will figure out that there is a way of bypassing a difficult section, but I did it legitimately in the video:

If you do manage to beat it, post it in the comments! I would like to see who has since nobody I've talked to has beaten it yet!

Downloads and Links




Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Spiffy mechanics, nice atmosphere. A bit too all-the-difficulty-right-away for my taste.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Thanks! I didn't intend to make it so difficult, but when I went to play test, it was really too late to change the level design. It is definitely beatable though! You just have to be quick and creative.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Phew! This is a tough one to play, still enjoyed it though, awesome concept! It would be nice if the lava boiled upwards a little bit slower though. Aside from that awesome work!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

Great job!, frustrated me so much I fell in love.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Sorry i couldn't run this entry when i clicked on the exe
nothing happened ;(

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I'm too bad for this. I just can't get past these fire balls.
Nice idea, good physics, hard level design, could need some moodier graphics? Otherwise, very fun and challenging in a good way. :)

Zephyr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

For those who couldn't run it, I suppose make sure your java is up to date?

ZQMony says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

A very challenging but addicting game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

The .exe took a long time to start up.
I like the mechanics, but the game is way too hard. If the flames weren't so prevalent at the start it might be more manageable.

mat1er says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Too hard, really...

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

There was a typo where the cool-down of the grappling hook was dependent of FPS for no good reason making the game incredibly hard when it was below the FPS cap. I fixed that and updated the download links. It should be a bit more forgiving now.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

This is really hard, a lot of the time it seems like the platforms you need to grapple to are off the top of the screen

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

This was pretty good. The rope reminds me of the ninja rope from Worms!

muh_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

It's damn hard but is even more fun to play

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51am

The file does not open... like, never opens...

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Fun game XD, it was kinda hard to aim without a custom cursor but it was fun overall XD

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Neat idea for the mechanics! It's a bit difficult though.

TobiasW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:23am

Oh, a grappling hook! There aren't enough games of those, I tell ya. And I like how it feels too and would love to experiment a bit, but...

With a game like mine I probably lost any right to complain about a game being to difficult - but MAN, your game is hard! An easy way to make it more beginner-friendly would be to make the lava rise slowly in the beginning and to get faster over time. Tweaked correctly, that would make *finishing* the game just as hard as it is now, but *beginning* the game would be a lot easier.

Another suggestion: If you use the mouse to aim, you might also want to use the mouse to "shoot" - or in this case, grapple.

I've watched your gameplay video now - that looks incredibly elegant!

So in the end your game is far too hard for me, but I really like what you have going on. All in all, good job!

PS: Also your game has lava. All the best games have lava obviously.

carlmartus says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:14am

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(
at org.lwjgl.Sys$
at Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(
at game.Run.<init>(
at game.Run.main(

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:16am

Wow that was hard! Are you an old time Rope Racer on Worms Armageddon by any luck? That's what this game reminded me. Nice job for a first game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]