Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Maze Escape

by MrWindy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape the underground maze.
Fight your way to freedom in this fun adventure game.

~The maze randomly generates, so every time you play its a different experience.

~You can play this on mobile devices that support html 5

(If the maze doesn't generate, refresh the web page.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#931Fun2.58
#981Humor1.80
#989Overall2.72
#990Audio1.69
#1015Innovation2.42
#1064Mood2.35
#1103Theme2.36
#1185Graphics2.00

Comments

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:22am

Great idea. A bit confusing though, being the square when shooting the arrows because it's not clear which side is the front.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24am

Fun game, reminds me of gauntlet.

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:26am

Tough to control which direction you're attacking. would be nice to be able to spin in place. Smooth graphics though!

trueyomic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:31am

It plays like a good prototype of something that needs a bit of work. If you were given more time I think it would make a neat dungeon crawler (with some graphics and juice).

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

I got to the surface! Interesting mouse mechanic to move. I don't think I encountered any bad guys though.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

Frustrating that enemies would suddenly spawn around me, but I'm very glad it didn't send me back to the beginning.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:38am

It would definitely be a bit easier on a phone. It was a pain clicking the arrows with the mouse. Looks great and the random generation thing is sweet!

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03am

Nice idea. You could turn this into an awesome Gauntlet clone or Rogue-like.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:44am

I liked the randomly-generated aspect, as it seems like a good way to add complexity without having to design a huge level. Respawning was well implemented and got me back into the game fast, which was good because I kept dying :) I think the controls probably work a lot better on a mobile device, my trackpad was difficult to aim with.

Teesquared says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50am

Fun game. I found it hard to rotate without moving so I kept running into what I was fighting. I like the checkpoint/loot system.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I liked the random generation aspect of the game, but it needs tweaking, some iterations I felt just went too hard or impossible.
If you give the player at least a different color from the walls it would be much less confusing.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:46am

I escaped the dark maze. I AM THE CHAMPION!

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:06am

This is fun, but a bit laggy (perhaps the enemy generation goes a little overboard as at some point I get an index error in my console and they stop spawning).

It goes without saying, but this did not work on my windows phone =/

May 3, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Definitely could be great with a bit more work, fighting was difficult with the movement system. Also, due to the random generation, the maze ran me into the end block before I was able to get any keys or allow me to access the rest of the maze (it was blocking the way), so I got stuck with nothing to do.

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:04am

Tricky controls, but it has promise. I like the fact that the levels are random, it adds to the replay value. Well done.

SimianLogic says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:32am

Would be good if the square tracked the mouse all the time. Found it hard to aim at enemies because the only way to face them is to run straight at them.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]