Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sink

by RPWhitaker - Jam Entry

Run n Gun shooter

Double Jump included!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Fun(Jam)3.46
#160Humor(Jam)3.16
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#253Theme(Jam)3.40
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#369Audio(Jam)3.08
#514Innovation(Jam)2.69
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I liked the graphics, the gameplay is engaging, even if it lacks music. However, the game is a little bit too hard for me :)

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

thanks for the feedback! yeah i didn't have time for music, which is a shame as I've been learning Famitracker and thought this'd be a good time to work with that. I'm a big fan of hard games, but im sure you can beat it! the boss awaits you in his lair..

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I really liked this entry. With a bit of music this would be absolutely perfet. Fantastic use of minimalistic graphics, a polished package and a nail biting difficulty level - I love it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice solid game.
It would be great to see more unique features, but that's just my taste.
Other than that, please consider balancing the difficulty... :(

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Thanks guys. I would have much more of a learning curve if this was to be a finished game, but running out of time i just decided to make the difficulty reflect what i like in games.

muramasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

This game is awesome! It's so unforgiving, but so addictive. I actually stopped playing because I found a bug (which happens randomly I guess), where the variable canmove seems to be undefined (here I include the bug report http://puu.sh/8sRHy.txt).

Anyway, I'm going to continue playing a little more mwahahaha! Hope I beat it!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

Good tile art, and the shooting was rewarding, especially when mashing "a" on my controller. Can't for the life of me figure out how to get past that first wall-o-turrets though.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

liked the graphics :)

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

muramasa - i fixed that bug, and have just been told i can swap out the file for one that works so i shall! glad youre enjoying it.

LandoSystems - look at what the wall of turrets is sitting on... :)

Bevilacqua - Thanks!

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

The game was really fun, but I couldn't get past the first jump after the checkpoint. :P Great job though!

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Thanks man. one thing i forgot to explain is that the game has a double jump if thats still not working for you, try falling off the platform for a split second first - you can still jump twice!

rogberth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

hard game, pretty solid. Good luck!

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:09am

This was hard. Like megaman hard. It also had super tight controls, and challenging level design. I found the audio to be a little grating, but the destructible terrain was a cool addition, and every time I died, I wanted to try again so I could shoot first next time. Good job! I'd also recommend compiling as a standalone executable. Saving that step gets a lot more people to give it a shot.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:19am

One of the coolest games i've played so far!

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very nicely done. Too difficult for me to get very far, but it plays excellent and the pixel art is sweet.

deadarius says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:11am

It actually quite cool. But the fact that I need to install it and cannot just run exe is a bit annoying.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]