Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Here's Dirt in Your Eye

by BeeintheCarGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Check out the read me file for the controls and how to play!

Here's Dirt in Your Eye is a game about digging graves. Putting jerks in graves. And making sure nobody finds those jerks ever again. Because they are jerks. Big 'ol jerky jerks.

It fits the "Beneath the Surface" theme, because not only are you putting people beneath the surface of the ground, but the playable character has much more going on beneath the surface. He's the mild-mannered town undertaker, but inside, he's full of anger, sadness and past regrets. The towns-folk also have some things they are hiding from the public.

I hope you enjoy it! It's my first Ludum Dare submission :D

****EDIT**** I was getting complaints that the zip file was corrupt/not opening correctly. I created the zip using winrar, and it seems like half of the people trying to open it couldn't. So I used 7-zip and re-uploaded the zips. Let me know if that seemed to help! (I also separated the source as a different download so you don't have to download it to play.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Humor3.61
#216Innovation3.57
#293Theme3.57
#319Mood3.27
#440Fun3.14
#484Overall3.25
#579Graphics3.14
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

This is a really funny idea-- I loved being able to chuck people in giant holes and the expressions on the people just make it more humorous. I could make the buildings wobble, though. I think that's just from the PC's sheer awesomeness.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great concept, very funny, very cool take on the theme. I downloaded the Windows file, but the .zip seems to be corrupt?

wheelsx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17am

I get an error and can't play, unexpected end of archive. I was looking forward to playing it though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:31pm

It would be nice if you could put the source files in a seperate link, under "Source", so that people don't have to download the whole project just to play the game!

And also, like the others, the zip file isn't working for me.

nSun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Sorry: zip file still corrupted

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Hehe funny idea! We tried to make smth similar creepy a few jams ago.

ccglp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great approach to the theme, very original!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Quite curious narrative, great interpretation of the theme! I found it fun, although the dialogue interface was a little raw, it served it purpose.
Music and sound would have added more to the spooky touch, but the game works well even without it.

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Did you also repack the OS/X version? I'm getting errors with that as well, and can't play right now.

FGM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Funny game. Probably just my bad laptop, but the game gets very laggy if there are a lot of dirt blocks.

v3games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice tone and sense of humor.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Neat idea!

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Very amusing! It was pretty funny especially the way you fill them up. Morbid story of course, but unique theme indeed.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:55pm

@Bekokstover, I did repack the OS/X version. :\ not sure what to do if it's not working still.

StoneMasters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Well that was interesting. :) Felt like Dexter. After burying all of them I was hoping for some kind of silver lining.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice concept. I download windows version and it's allright. A bit laggy though. Nice game anyway. :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:21am

Greeeaaaat idea! Audio definitely would've helped make it feel more finished, but after playing for 5 mins and finally burying my first npc it was really rewarding haha. Awesome job on your first LD!

hissssssssss says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:41am

It's a big laggy, but I love the idea. I had fun burying a bunch of jerks!

elefantopia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I burried the banker and the sheriff. Very good feeling indeed and great writing.

Garris says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very well done. The writing is great, and throwing people in holes and burying their awful, awful faces made my day. Some animations would have been a nice addition, but this is a solid game, first time or otherwise. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]