Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mole People

by Gaming_Ray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a Mole person, helping running the world smoothly from beneath the surface.
Don't let the world explode, and don't run out of energy.

- Made in Unity
- Art made in Illustrator
- Music made with Figure
- Sound Effects made with BFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#146Humor3.30
#242Innovation3.53
#308Overall3.44
#329Audio3.12
#354Graphics3.47
#365Fun3.26
#385Mood3.18
#559Theme3.26

Comments

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Good all round game. Clearly had a lot of thought put into the design.

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice idea and good graphics

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I did about a day's worth of maintenance before giving up and destroying the world XD

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Thanks :)
Should have put a timer to count how long you survived, so you could compare scores.
Will do post compo.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Had a problem getting Chrome to give control the Unity web player, but got it working in internet explorer (not 100% sure what happened there as I played other unity games today in Chrome). Anyway the game is interesting, especially on how you fix each problem (usually games like this are just a matter of going to a station without interacting to fix it, so good job there). Unfortunately there was no difficulty scaling, so after a while it got really repetitive.

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

This was really fun... Died of exhaustion. Unfortunately it is quite hard to see what happens to the Earth in the background because the game is just... so intense. :)

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

@dalbinblue: Yeah, didn't really have time to properly scale difficulty. (it's mostly random and bit time based)

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Also, Chrome is sometimes picky with Unity web player. Sometimes just moving the tab / window, or refreshing helps it get back on track.

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

That guy needs an assistant!
Once I got into a groove it didn't seem to get any harder, so I just stopped, but I still enjoyed it. Very creative.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

This was a fun game to play. I only wish there was more :)

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Cool idea there :)
Very hectic, and each of the task is different.
Does get a bit repetitive after a while though because it's always the same task.
Btw, you can cheat with a nasty bug: if you go to the temperature and get it into the green area, and then out again, the meltdown timer will restart, so you could play forever by just pressing up and down and occasionally recharging :D

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

PS: I love how all the stuff is going on in the background, like all hell breaks loose if that mole is only a split second behind on his job ^-^

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I dig this, fun graphics and a cool gameplay idea. Unfortunately I seem to get stuck after playing for about a minute (can't move to the different stations) but I enjoy the hectic feel to it.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It should have an end-game, but other than than great. Well done.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice game. Fun for a while, then repetitive as nothing was scaling with time. Also expected some high score counter with time survived? When you die out of hunger, you have to wait till it goes boom - maybe just cripple the speed of player instead of disabling him..

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

The concept is good, but kinda repetitive.
After a full revolution of the moon, I just gave up the Earth :3

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I knew it.. I knew it that somewhere there someone is pushing all this buttons. Super idea! Maybe adding some kind of points or 'game end' would make people to play it longer. Good game!

shane1090 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice concept! Got me in a panic trying to keep everything green! Had a few issues initially with it not register movement with the arrow keys, and then I somehow managed to make he fall over! (The character sprite was at rotated 90 degrees clockwise).

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Fun game, stressful yet trance-inducing at the same time. Would be nice to track how long you survived so you could try to beat your own best score (or others)

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I got overstimulated with sound (and I see why it's part of the game) but a little bit too much. I like the simple idea. Good job.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Cool game, it's a little easy to just keep going though!

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Ha, very manic but cool with it!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very strange game, but in all the right ways. Nice concept!

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:34pm

This was pretty entertaining. If this had a goal (resulting in a victory end game screen) or a score counter it would be even better. Cool idea with the mole people making sure the Earth is safe. I feel safer after playing this game! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]