Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frozen Solid

by TMKCodes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea was to build a game where the player could control group of spacemen who had crashlanded into frozen planet. Since their ship crashed deep into the ice, they have to reach the surface of the frozen planet for sending SOS signal. Though this is really hard, because of limited supplies.

The submission does not have:
* multiple characters to play with
* monsters to fight against.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1031Theme2.53
#1123Fun2.27
#1218Overall2.25
#1222Innovation1.93
#1236Graphics1.75
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20am

Wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing. The idea sounded good though, so it could be fun once you get a little further on the implementation.

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20am

The windows link is a bunch of .py files...?

TMKCodes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Yeah.. I realized after I submitted I did not add anything which would tell how to complete. But the main objective is to go up as far as you can and take radio and press s.

Seppel read the readme. I did not make executable. It requires python.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

While trying to run the Windows version, I get an error: "File 'main.py', line 13: if not pygame.font: print 'Warning, fonts disabled' SyntaxError: invalid syntax" and there's a little arrow pointing to the "'" after the world 'disabled'. Hope this helps.

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

Same thing as manabreak said

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

Windows build seems to be just the source (not an actual build)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Hmmm, is there a way to pack python sources into binary for windows? Would make playing it an awful lot easier :(

TMKCodes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

It requires Python2 not 3.. Pygame does not work in 3 as far as I know..

TMKCodes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

There is pyinstaller, but I don't know how to use it. This was my first time programming with python..

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

I needed some time, before i figured out how to remove blocks. And then i digged down instead of up :) Could be pretty fun game when it's finished.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I did not downloaded it because comments say it doesn't work, so I don't rate it.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

An Executable would be nice. The obstacle to install additional runtimes is too high.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]