Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Badass Pinguin

by theundeadwarrior - Jam Entry

Platform fix! We just fix the platforms so that the character doesn't fall at the begining!


Notes:
- We pretty much started from scratch for this project.

- The game was done in our own game engine (AtumEngine) which we did a year and a half ago for a school project. The code was pretty messy and wasn't designed to make 2D games so we had trouble implementing features.

- We wanted to add more diversity in the levels (traps, random effects like wind or ghosts for the under) but we didn't have the time for that (messy engine...)


How to Install:
- Unzip the .rar
- Run /output/Release/GameEngine.exe (the shortcut doesn't work!)


The Team:
Vincent Bilodeau (Programming + Music)
[Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEvXy7Sq_pax_p5ifLCMJKg]

Luc Charbonneau (Programming)
[Twitter: https://twitter.com/theundeadwarrio]
[Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/theundeadwarrior0/videos]

Gabrielle Drouin (Arts)
[Deviant: http://kerropi.deviantart.com/]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#379Humor(Jam)2.54
#385Audio(Jam)3.03
#419Graphics(Jam)3.26
#524Theme(Jam)2.83
#566Mood(Jam)2.71
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#571Fun(Jam)2.60
#712Innovation(Jam)2.14

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

Wow... That art is sick! I also enjoyed the overall games feel and the game experience. I understand the time issues, i didn't get to post my LD program ;luckily i made a program that fits the requirements in the same time frame :D anyways, great job! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

My pinguin was too badass, he kept jumping off of the platforms! :( Overall pretty entertaining, good work!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

The bridges seemed, more often than not, to cause the penguin to hard stop and immediately fall. Most of the time that equated to immediate death. It wasn't until after my 10th or so fall that I realized there were platforms under the ice, they were hard to see, and most of the time I missed them entirely and just died. This happened while spawning from time to time as well, though much less frequently. Also, it is really hard to play when the random decides to generate behind the icebergs in the foreground.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

The jumping on this feels pretty good, although the random platforms have the problem of not always existing where the game spawns you, or where you fall to the lower area. I liked the snow effect.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Nice game! I enjoyed the art! I also liked the two-level design, but the platform generator does need some work. Many times I would start the game below the ice platforms or directly over a large hole. I also thought the platforms were too hard to see.

KuGrou says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice artwork, and the jump feels pretty good. I like the idea of the two layers, unfortunately the speed at which the penguin falls paired with the way the camera scrolls would frequently result in me falling through that second layer before I could even tell where I was.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

Only complaint I have is that it's pretty hard to know if the place you're going to land after falling the first time, is a safe place. And you don't have any control over it anyway...

BUT! I felt I was unable to even see those platforms because of contrast. Top part is too bright, bottom is too dark. When I go from top to bottom I need some time to be able to see the platforms, in which time I most of the time am already dead.

Other than that, I find it pretty fun and nice.

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27am

The game crashes as soon as I open it.
Checking the cmd reveals that my ancient laptop does not support glsl 1.3+. (I have the crappy laptop graphics card)
My card barely supports opengl 2.0 but can run dx11 for some reason.
:(

I'll see if I can find an alternative computer and run this cool-looking game.

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

:( that's too bad czery

On a side note, we got a version without the spawn below platform issue or immediate death at the start coming

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

Just submitted a fix for platforms when spawning! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really impressive artwork ! Entertaining, cool idea ! Thanks for the fix :)

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

If interested, Gabrielle, our artist has a deviantart http://kerropi.deviantart.com/

I also have a youtube account where I update my music reorchestration (the music from the game comes from abundant-music but I remastered it at home) you can check https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEvXy7Sq_pax_p5ifLCMJKg

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

Lovely game.
Graphics could use more contrast between foreground and background and the level below is too dark.
The link in the main directory did not work. Had to search for the Gameengine.exe

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

For the contrast below there's a simple tweak you guys can do locally. If you go in the folder data->shaders and open AlphaTestedTexture.fg, you can change this line :

gl_FragColor = diffuseMapColor;

for

gl_FragColor = diffuseMapColor*0.85+0.15;

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

yyou can change it with other values if you want. In general, you'll want to do (diffuseMapColor)*variable+(1-variable);

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Not bad, pretty entertaining. Good job! :)

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice little infinite runner! It got started a little quick for me, and took me a little while to figure out, but once I did it was pretty fun. Others have mentioned this but the platforms are very hard to see, particularly underground. I love how the underground functioned as sort of a "second try" and it would be nice to see a method to recover back to the first level again. The art was stunning in this game, particularly the music! Very well done! I didn't like how bridges make you fall, so functionally they're basically just gaps. Overall, very nice little game. Quite fun to play!

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

:D

For the exe, I told luc about it, but he's not at his PC so he can't resubmit it with a shortcut working. Meanwhile, the real exe is in Output/Release/Gameengine.exe

Tetriste says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

"I love how the underground functioned as sort of a "second try" and it would be nice to see a method to recover back to the first level again"

We had that planned actually, just didn't have the time to do it :(

"The art was stunning in this game, particularly the music!"

Thanks!

"I didn't like how bridges make you fall, so functionally they're basically just gaps."

Hmmm, I didn't have this issue, I think luc neither so we missed it, but collisions were really messy to do because of the way we chose to implement the movement and rendering :/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback, it's really appreciated :)

I'll try looking into a fix for the shortcut tonight!

There was a lot of stuff that we planned for the game that didn't make it. I'll probably do a post mortem tonight to explain what were our ideas initially, what problems we encountered and how we fixed them! I also have a timelapse video that I'd like to upload!

@all: We know about the platforms being too dark or too bright :( You can change the platforms textures in the data/texture folder if you don't want to mess around with the shaders to fix the issue.

@Empyrealhell: As Vincent said, I didn't run into that problem either. :(

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Run and jump games tend to be very fun, and this is no exception! The music is and art is wonderful too. Great job! :)

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54am

It's fun to play!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09am

too bad there was no scoring in this - the levels come very fast and there was no ramp up - artwork was pretty good - interesting idea for the theme tho - nice effort

May 1, 2014 @ 4:19am

@sPOCKEr2: We wanted to add scoring or at least show the distance travelled but our engine didn't have any kind of text support and we didn't have the time to do it :(

May 1, 2014 @ 6:44am

Nice transition. Visuals are nice and clean, with lots of movement to keep things dynamic. The background's pan speed might be a bit too low though; doesn't quite convey the sense of speed everything else does.

Like the seamless switch on the BGM.

Now all it's missing is some meaty content.

Belle job!

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:24am

What's with the penguin outfit? Penguins are badass enough with a black tuxedo ;). Anyway, missed a distance meter, and I felt that the platforms colors are not contrasting enough with the background. Other than that, a pretty funny infinite runner.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:08am

A fun little game. I like the two layer approach, although it doesn't seem to really impact gameplay in a meaningful way. The audio transitions are nice and smooth.
Also, I think this was pointed out already, but the included shortcut doesn't point to the right location.
(As it happens, I also made an endless runner, if you're interested.)

Robinerd says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:19am

Nice one! The gameplay felt really smooth, and I think if you got a simple score system in there perhaps with social media sharing even, it has great potential. Would work great on smart phones as well thanks to simple input.
I think the change of music in the "underworld" was very well done as well with a great transition. I did not spend much time in the underworld so I'm not sure if you have this already, but a way to get back up on the upper world after falling down would be great, like a second chance to save your life if you screw up once. I think that would be a great mechanics.
Finally, the graphics.. The art is really nice in total with a great concept-art feeling. I would change is the platform art to something not perfectly rectangular (consider some structure with edges and a looped middle-part to make it more interesting. You can still use normal rectangles for the intersections. Second, add an outline and perhaps change the color slightly for platforms since they right now blend into the background very much and are a bit uncomfortable to watch when playing for a long time.
Underground is perhaps a bit too dark and could use a slight revamp, perhaps with a more fiery color palette? Just a thought ;)
And finally, to me the game feels a bit too easy now, it would be great if the difficulty can scale up gradually by either speed or fewer platforms. Needs lots of tweaking along with the scoring system in case you want to commercialize this.
In total, I really like the feeling of this game and it kept me playing rather long compared to most other entries. Simple yet addictive. I would totally recommend you to develop this into something commercial, and release it perhaps on Android and iOS. Well done!

Robinerd says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:20am

Oh and one more thing, I like the font you used really much!

Tetriste says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Thanks :) we already had in mind that a way to get back up would be cool, a scoring system as well as well as acceleration like Canabalt. Personally I had also thought of putting some alpha test in the platforms for them to look neat, but we didn't have the time to do all of that since we didn't use a complete engine to make the game (we used a school project engine that we had made beforehand). We also wanted to add other stuff, like obstacles :P

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:36am

Pretty neat!

May 17, 2014 @ 9:10am

I couldn't run this game... At the title screen, when I press Spacebar, the game crashes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]