Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diver

by peejaygee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, I chucked this together in about 14 hours, first time entering one of these things.

Move around with W.A.S.D, for up, left, down and right, and try to collect the pearls before you loose your air, or your loose a life, and it's game over.

"Diver" was created for the April 2014 Ludum Dare. The theme for the competition was "Beneath the Surface."

Per rules of the competition, all code, art and sounds were created within 48 hours. Source code (Clickteam Fusion 2.5 file) is included, also per the rules.

Though the code is included, this is not open source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#213Audio3.35
#769Humor2.15
#823Theme2.94
#985Graphics2.51
#996Mood2.46
#1155Fun2.16
#1181Overall2.39
#1183Innovation2.06

Comments

StephenJacob says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:54am

The soundtrack is really great and the gameplay is pretty fun.
Sadly the controls are a little choppy, it's hard to take turns and sometime when encountering an obstacle the diver's position is reset to the center of the tile.
It would be cool if there were multiple levels too.
All in all it's a pretty good game =)!

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

I kept getting stuck in the walls... it could do with some debugging.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

the start and highscore remind me of BBS ansi stuff :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Hard controls but great sounds!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Enjoyed the music, and also liked the character's movement. However, I think a bit more room between walls would give it more fluent gameplay.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Pretty cool, but too bad you didn't developed it a bit more. You can do awesome things with CF2.5, even in 48h.
Still cool though

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Great music, the controls/movement was hard - it seemed like I kelp getting stuck or jumping to the side when I wanted to go up/down.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

Nice simple game, I had issues getting caught in the walls.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

As everyone else said, I kept getting stuck on the walls. :-/

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Kept getting stuck on walls here but the music was nice, if there was a wee bit more room it'd help a lot for moving about.

WBojangles says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Wow, you DESTROYED those default midi samples, really great musical work

Anny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Gets stuck between the walls a little bit but loved the music, it was fantastic.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Nice music! Walls are evil, kept getting latched on them!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

Congrats on finishing your entry! Very easy to get stuck.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Unlike the others, I somehow had no trouble with getting stuck on the walls. I like this concept--seems like I could get addicted to it pretty easily as a flash game, for example--but I found the level design a bit too samey, and the difficulty didn't really seem to increase too much. Sure, there were more bubbles on later levels, but the number and placement of kelp remained about the same, and I didn't have to go out of my way to get the pearls--it was really a "dodge the bubbles as you try to get to the end of the level" game, more than a collection game. I got to level 4 without losing any lives or even really worrying about it.

However, I think that the basic concept, applied to some more careful (perhaps non-procedural) level design, could really be a lot of fun.

BlazeCell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14am

Why do bubbles suck your air away? It feels very counter intuitive.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53am

Nice, but I don't much see the point of continuing after you beat the first level or two.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice game. Others wrote about sound, but I sadly didn't had it (using wine on linux) I wonder if there is an end. I played until the forth level but had the feeling to be stuck in a loop!? :D All in all good job!

davidB says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:32am

I first thought bubble help to fill air.
Avatar hard to control, I didn't understand the gravity rules.
Nice background music.

Muciojad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:28am

Quite good gameplay and great soundtrack, but limp controls are headache of game ;)

aelita1992 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:50am

Good, old fashioned game :) And great soundtrack, really liked it.n

Blanky says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice game man. The music was great as well.

CiderPunk says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:07pm

nice tune! needed a bit of variety.

MokuJin says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:48pm

The music is really good.
Some different board and the game will be better.

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:35am

With a little more time this would have been awesome! Keep working on it!

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:44am

The music was nice, but all the levels were the same, and the oxygen just ran out quicker, so there wasn't a big sense of progression. The bubbles feel like they would give you oxygen instead of take away, maybe if they were something else like fish. Controls felt like I was under water but it was hard to control.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]