Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

To Surface

by NeithR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need a pdf reader play this game.
Generally a lot of OS and browser already support pdf reader so no need to download any plugin at all.

Since the game is in pdf, you can choose to play it in browser directly or download it to desktop and play it using a pdf reader.

When playing it, be sure to fit the page in the screen that only 1 page you see. Also, no scrolling for better game experience.

-- Update (May 7th after, 2014)
I switched to Box now. It supports pdf to played on the browser ;).

-- Update (May 7th, 2014)
Dropbox disabled documents contain hyperlink. Since my pdf game relies on hyperlinks to go to other page, it is affected as well so I have to renew the link. Also, it is not possible to view pdf file directly on Dropbox right now so you have to download the game (the size is less than 500 kb).

Meanwhile, I am still searching an alternative which can view as well as Dropbox. So far, couldn't find a better alternative yet. (minimum is to view a pdf file directly)

Sorry for inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Innovation4.09
#400Humor2.67
#850Theme2.90
#1047Mood2.39
#1058Audio1.31
#1061Graphics2.36
#1077Overall2.60
#1127Fun2.24

Comments

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

Truly an unexpected entry for me! I think you can do a lot more with this technology/platform. Need to think about this some more, hmmm...

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Oh boy this blew my mind
Never saw a game like this!
Nice idea...

...even though it was boring

Anyway, thanks for the chocolate bar!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Agreed, I was very surprised by the format. Great job!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01am

I agree with everybody, that the concept with a weird platform is great!

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Really did not expect it to be a PDF, it looks like a flash game. A very creative entry, although I feel like it would have been better without the buttons signalling where to game, making it more immersive

pinion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Really interesting format, but my pdf viewer kept getting it wrong and putting me one page down from the right one.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Really interesting way of making a game!

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wow, the idea that one could create games with pdfs never crossed my mind. Loved the humor too, so many piranhas! :)

microwerx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

That was really neat. I never in a million years considered doing a game with a PDF file!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Soooooo cool format ! Congrats !

Very creative stuff, really inspiring

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Great idea. When trying this in safari it got a bit confused and often took me to the wrong page.

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Amazing! A game made ENTIRELY IN A PDF?!
The gameplay wasn't much but that itself really made it insanely unexpected. In a good way!
Congrats. :)

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

It's like a choose your own adventure picture book! Interesting concept to say the least, certainly was NOT expecting that.

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

Max innovation marks....never...ever...expected this;)

noom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:49am

Very well done indeed, I almost didn't try it out because I'm avoiding downloading anything this LD, but then I saw it was a PDF and it blew my mind. Fantastic work.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:19am

Unexpected. I agree that it was like a "Choose Your Own Adventure book", but without all the page turning.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:47am

"The person decided to do a suicide with some way." I laughed hard, that was funny! And wow, a PDF game...

Baknik says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54am

Very interesting use of pdf.

Teesquared says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:02am

Point and click adventure in Power Point/PDF is very innovative. Better graphics and an interesting story could work with this format.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:11am

so innovative! It's like the games I used to dream up when I was a kid. Top marks for innovation!!!!

CDK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:28pm

nice innovative game - thought somewhat boring :) but nice idea ^^

terraco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:45am

Choose your own adventure PDF... wow

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I'm still trying to figure out how I managed to commit suicide in the first cave.

Tuism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:49am

Unexpected entry is unexpected. High novelty, low on... Anything really :P But innovative, I'll give you that. I like the built-in level-skip "feature" :P

May 4, 2014 @ 10:21am

Super innovative! Must have been a lot work to come to this. Impressive work!

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:05am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:51am

the link seems to be broken

NeithR says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:19am

Hi everyone!
Thank you very much for the feedbacks! :)

Also I am very sorry if the game is a bit boring, couldn't think any better mechanism for the game theme and my still-lack of skill on art to implement more complex game mechanism xD.
But I am still happy and satisfied with the result xD.

@Vytheros:
Thanks for the input, will try to use a better symbol (which blends with environment better than square buttons) for my other next pdf game ;).

@microwerx:
Neither me (except in millions years :p), since I got inspired from Squeka Artika who made a pdf game earlier than me (She is also my friend and we made several games last year ago.) xD.

@Ellian:
The file is entirely in a pdf, but the file itself was exported from power point. It still works with other alternative power point as long it support pdf export and hyperlink ;).

@Tuism:
Yeah, I like that built-in level-skip feature since it makes me faster to debug my game especially in hundred of pages xD.

@alexdantas:
Thank you very much for the feature :D
The word "Gem" made my eyes in gems xD.

@mcapraro:
Thank you very much for the notice ;)
Dropbox disabled the document contain hyperlink for security reason right now. Since my pdf game relies on hyperlink to go to other pages, it is affected too.

NeithR says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:14am

Update!
The Web version is up again.
I use Box to host the pdf.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:14am

Unexpected and interesting format for a game (200+ pages, wow!).

x1212 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:15am

great idea ... I guess there is no one who cannot play this :)

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:28pm

WTF a game in a PDF? AWESOME !!!
Nice exploration.

Unfortunately, no audio.. :-P ;-D

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:17pm

This is the first time ever I've seen someone use PDF as a platform like this - good job!

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:43am

Awesome idea to make a game in pdf, didn't know it is even possible, or rather that someone will try :D

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Haha pretty clever entry.

rubna says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:42pm

very original! I liked how much it still felt like a little world :) good job!

Raiyumi says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:22pm

This was a really clever way to make a game. Really cool!

oal says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Haha, this is the first time I've played a game entirely in a PDF. I thought I had opened some kind of manual, but it was actually pretty entertaining.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:59am

Interesting format. The suicide option seems unnecessary and potentially distasteful.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]