Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mask of Us

by KirbiKaka - Jam Entry

My solo-jam entry. A story-driven game about a town of people who all wear masks. With your unique ability to change peoples' perceptions of you, explore the many responses of the townsfolk who often view you not by the content of your character, but by the masks we wear.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.31
Coolness71%
#59Overall(Jam)3.79
#74Innovation(Jam)3.76
#86Humor(Jam)3.53
#121Mood(Jam)3.67
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#385Audio(Jam)3.03

Comments

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Pretty cool. I laughed at myself at the end because I didn't... Let me not give anything away.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

...

...

Well played, sir.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

This reminds me of an idea a friend of mine had, after I told him I wanted to make a game to convey a message... about how we just follow rules, and the only mechanic was walking forward; of course, the concept had way more involved than just walking forward, but it was a great idea...

Nevertheless, a week after, my friend told me about making a game about how everyone wears masks, and everyone is a hypocrite...

This is this game...

I like it... It is a little bit text heavy... I would have tried to make it convey the message in a different manner, but, it is amazing... nope... Outstanding for a 72 hours game jam game.

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

Nice one! I love the message you send with this game, very beautiful. Easy to get into, had me stuck til the final twist when I finally realized your second interpretation of the theme - much more unique than the "surf ace" interpretation :D Only minus is the repetitive music, feels a bit rough. Other than that, great work!!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

One of the most meaningful game I've played in all these Ludum Dares. Honestly.
Loved the use of theme, specifically at the ending! Simply brilliant!

There is one thing I'd like to complain about though: The music. It was kind of ruining the mood.

Now go play some other games to get this thing more visibility! It deserves it.

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29am

crashed when i pressed space or enter to start
:( looked fun

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Good take on the theme!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

The movement speed seemed a little high, and for me, the camera scrolled really, really slowly, so I had to wait about 45 seconds before the square-head house came into view.

I liked it, though! Nice spin on the theme.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice take on the theme but I don't think you explored the idea enough.
I liked the pun too.

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

The end was hilarious! Well done!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

*slow clap* I don't care if you win Ludum Dare or not... you just won Ludum Dare. Brilliant, both with the ending and the overall message of the game. Bravo. Bra-vo.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Cool!

Note that the game won't run properly on most filesystems due to UI/ directory being referred as ui/.

Dreii, most likely you had this problem. If so, you can just rename assets/UI to assets/ui and it will work.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

The play on words made me smile, and the way you approached the theme reminds me of my game :3
But the game is a little bit short, and the gameplay could have been improved, maybe, to last longer.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

@caryoscelus Oh wow! I didn't even know I had done that! Thanks so much for the fix :D! I changed all the references of "ui" to "UI" and updated the download link! I hope this works for y'all :]!

And thank you all for the kind words and feedback, I really appreciate it :D!

euske says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

The game itself is a bit clumsy, but its message makes it whole worth playing. Love it.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Really good approach on the theme! Nice!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

The idea looks great, but it seems I cannot move away from the first screen :| Is it a bug or am I a moron? (both may be equally correct...) the music is indeed pretty heavy on the ears :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Kinda Majora's Mask inspired.
Good game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I liked this game! I think that the mask mechanic could've been explored a bit more, but I really dug the aesthetics. Nice job!
~funkeh.

PS. to make this game work on case-sensitive file systems, change the assets/UI folder to assets/ui.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

@Lolshouse Dev Team / funkeh
Oh man, I totally thought I had fixed that :S! I changed the UI folder to ui and reuploaded it. (And made sure the code only references assets/ui). Hopefully everything works now D:! Thanks so much for pointing it out!

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I really liked this game! The story was really nice and I loved the graphics style and the funny characters. Really original! :D

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This was a pretty well put-together experience all around! I can see that you've already gotten lots of reviews, so I'll keep it short and simple: your interpretation of the theme was the best part of this game. I laughed at the end and enjoyed a lot of the dialogue... the graphics were cute, too.

I guess what I'd ask is, given the number of mask-switching games following a generally similar mechanical idea, do you think you could challenge yourself to turn this concept into an interactive game with win and loss conditions? Clearly the rest of your approach is pretty good, so it seems like a strong next step.

Thanks for the experience! I enjoyed myself.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36am

This game was cool, the art is awesome (reminds me of little big planet somehow).

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

@Solifuge / Vector
I'm glad you enjoyed it! Actually, the initial idea was to have a bit of a puzzle game going on. I hinted at it with the VERY simple puzzle of the bully blocking your way. You must have the Botch-Face mask on in order to intimidate him to let you through. The game was supposed to be a sort of puzzle adventure with the mask mechanic added in. Unfortunately, I ended up running out of time and just barely being able to finish the bare-bones story that you see here. I weighed between making more puzzles and finishing a story, and decided that, in the end, the message was more important.

TL;DR Ran low on time, as is the case with a lot of Ludum Dare games :b

Thanks for the question, I appreciate your interest :D!

Kragnir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice story, would be nice with a bit more gameplay. Don't know how to feel about that ending.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:18am

I loved the way you used the theme with the idea of social masks. Loved it but it was hard to know where i am because of the plain black background i got somehow >.>. I think i installed it wrong or something but i managed to get around :D

Wir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:19am

I love the idea and the critism to our community, to judge only what you see..
I have answered your statement pls come again and check out it could help us alot (your the first to say you couldnt see your resources and we want to fix it)

Ludipe says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great interpretation of the game! and the art is pretty cool too!

Cake&Code says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I finally got to play it!! I really loved it, and the way you tutorialed everything was really seamless and nice. Dialogue was really fun to explore and look into, and of course...the ending was great. :)

KirbiKaka says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:55am

Reuploaded to fix an audio issue, the audio file is now set to stream instead of load all at the beginning. :]

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:12am

Really great social commentary and writing! Great to see games that push the envelope on what it means to be a game :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:28am

If you hadn't repeated the final line again on the last screen, the pun would've missed me entirely lol.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30am

Oh, and in response to your comment on my game: I actually thought I'd put button explanations in-game too. Apparently I forgot most of those, sorry about that!

And I had a feeling I might not have made the breakable rocks distinct enough. That's why I added the 'rockslide' upon collecting the pickaxe to ensure that the player realized they could break those kinds of blocks, but they probably should have been more distinct nonetheless.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Clever... Very clever. Haha

Jun 8, 2014 @ 10:16am

I made a video of the game here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxXhur5JtTA&list=UUYY8Ps6rzoZpWDRIQSy363A

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]