Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Virus LD48

by EmberKirk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You're the hottest new virus on the street, aren't you?"

This is an experimental toy about displacement and going beneath the surface cell. The main objective is to clear the board of all Blue and Green Cells without falling out of the organism.

(NOTE: The first few seconds may have a high framerate, this is due to physics attempting to stabilize itself.)

Controls:
-------------------------------------------
LMB / RMB : Shove / Grab things around you. Doing this may attract the attention of White Cells.
Shift : Expand Size
R : Reset
-----------------------------------------------

Tips:
-----------------------------------------------------
-Try using a combination of shift and click to move through the environment.
-Red Cells: Idle cells that can be pushed and moved around. They become more difficult to move as you progress down. These become more rigid as you go down further.

-Some cells can be broken from their root by pushing them with enough strength.

-Blue Cells: Increase your strength by 20% when grabbed, allowing you to push Red Cells further.

-Fat Cells: Static Cells that cannot be moved.

-Green Cells: Increase your movement speed by 20%

-White Cells: will be attracted to you if you attempt to grab things around you. If you are touched by a White Cell you will be returned to your spawn location.
----------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Innovation3.52
#611Graphics3.09
#801Mood2.71
#850Theme2.90
#866Overall2.87
#899Fun2.62
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

An interesting concept, very challenging, but I like the strange way of moving and interacting with the other balls. Very cool!

thephantom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

it took me a while to understand the game mechanics , but i didn't understand the game goal yet

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

There isn't a finite win state at the moment besides clearing the board of the blue strength cells and the green dexterity cells. That inherently will allow you to fully control the board and will allow you to eventually break cells out of their bindings.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

This is relaxing to play around with. I actually really enjoyed the fact that it had no defined goal.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

I know it's supposed to be a virus, but I visualized it as rolling around in stacks of Vienna sausages. Definitely feels like a toy that could be made into a game and I feel like it could be pretty fun if it was.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Interesting game. Wasn't sure what was going on for a bit, took me a while to realize there wasn't really a goal.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

Playing around with the mechanics is fun. I could see this expanded!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

Interesting, odd game. I really enjoyed it. There is nothing more satisfying than expanding, pushing everything away, shrinking, and slingshotting into the air.

Sadly, I ran out of space to play, luckily, there is a Reset button.

Great game.

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

:')

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]