Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Hop

by waveformmodulations - Jam Entry

ICE HOP

AFTER DISCOVERING A HIDDEN RIDDLE WRITTEN IN AN ANCIENT BOOK REVEALING THE LOCATION OF A GREAT MYSTERY, TRANSDIMENSIONAL EXPLORER, ETA, EMBARKS ON AN ADVENTURE INTO A FROZEN WASTELAND ...

--------------------------

THEME: Beneath The Surface

GAMEPLAY: W, A, S, D Movements w/ SPACE BAR for JUMP & R for RENEW

NOTES: After completing LEVEL ONE, it takes approx 20 seconds to load the rest of the Game. Once you've completed the Game & returned to the START MENU, the Game runs smoothly next time through & there is relatively no load time. There are many glitches around the edges so be careful! Pressing R for RENEW is very useful.

CONTENT: Concept, Story, Models, Environments, Music & Sound FX developed in 72 hours for LUDUM DARE 29 JAM.

CREDITS: Concept & Story by Esiris Kayab Lyons & Harley Kola Kuklinski
Computer Graphics by Harley Kola Kuklinski aka QUAZAAR
Music & Sound FX by QUETZATL

MUSIC DOWNLOAD: QUETZATL - ICE HOP (Ludum Dare 29 EP)
http://quetzatl.bandcamp.com/album/ice-hop

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS: 64-Bit Computer w/ OPENGL Video Card; joy2key compatible

TO RUN GAME: Once downloaded, extract folder and then open folder, then double-click on "Ice Hop" application. A black terminal window will run for a few moments before ICE HOP Start Menu appears. Then Press ENTER & PLAY!



--------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#516Audio(Jam)2.67
#616Mood(Jam)2.57
#619Humor(Jam)1.81
#658Innovation(Jam)2.33
#682Theme(Jam)2.30
#707Fun(Jam)2.14
#724Overall(Jam)2.33
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I see nobody downloaded this yet? It's quater of a gig, thats a high asking price for 5 minutes of gaming.

The gameplay is very slow, the game is an exploration game essentially. however, there are many little bugs that amuse me so. In the first area I can get out of bounds and fall infinitely. I can also puch some ice shards around. In the second area I can have the creature 'dance' on my head in a buggy way; very very amusing stuff.

The game's graphics and it's music are -gorgeous- however, so mu question to the submitter of this game is, why did you mot provide more screenshots?! The one you provided does absolutely NO justice to the game's graphical quality.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really like the character you presented--the graphics are wonderful (dig that elephant! or mammoth, I was kind of busy running away), and that screen at the end is very cute--but I have to say that I felt that the initial promise of the game (a resolved mystery) somewhat fell through. Great music. Probably the best thing you could do to improve the game, in my opinion, is put some kind of screen in-between levels to give the player something to look at (so that they won't think that the game has somehow frozen and is having terrible trouble).

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:09am

This is certainly a daring engine to make a jam in, but as a result it feels just a tiny bit stiff. There's something about the animation that makes the walking speed feel too slow. The style of the models and music is cool - I think you could use bolder and less realistic textures to match.

Andromatta says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:00am

I really want to run this on Windows but I have no idea how. Any chance at a writeup?

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:42am

same here, not really sure how to run the windows version

terraco says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:45am

wow that file size!

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:20am

The all caps text makes for difficult reading. Not sure how the theme fits in. Nice mammoths though.

BubuIIC says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really nice graphics and cool character!

demonshanker2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I get a seg fault on the linux version after walking forward for about 15 seconds. It happens right in front of the hole in the middle of the path.

Here's the error:

Color management: using fallback mode for management
BLF_lang_init: 'locale' data path for translations not found, continuing
connect failed: No such file or directory
Detected GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
Detected GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
Detected GL_ARB_multitexture
Detected GL_ARB_shader_objects
Detected GL_ARB_vertex_shader
Detected GL_ARB_fragment_shader
Detected GL_ARB_vertex_program
Detected GL_ARB_depth_texture
Detected GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
found bundled python: /home/joey/Downloads/Ice hop/2.70/python
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I used the loading time to make myself some tea. I love the vibe, polish or make more games like it in the future!

elliottd says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:55pm

could not run this. the folder contains a file with no extension. I gave it an exe extension and got an error about 64 bit vs 32 bit. My operating system is 64 bit so it shouldn't be a problem?

conno1234 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:49am

Can't play it?

May 7, 2014 @ 2:33am

Thanks for commenting everyone! I updated the description on how to run the game. And I'll try to work out the bugs with the Linux version.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I can't figure out how to launch the game, when I double-click the file it just asks what I should open it in (Windows)

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

Not sure how to run the game on windows. no exe or jar in sight.

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Damaged zip.

May 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

If you extract the folder and open the folder in the windows version there should be an application called "ice hop ludum fix" run that!

May 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Hey thx for all the feedback yall, really stoked that folks are digging the character, graphics & music, not sure why the zip worked, and was playable for some, then didnt seem to work, but a new zip of the Windows version of ICE HOP has been uploaded, should be running fine and is available for download. There is still an in game load time so be sure to read the "NOTES" section above.

May 10, 2014 @ 5:14pm

We fixed the zip and managed to reduce the load time between levels as well as the game size.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Funky soundtrack and nice visuals. I just kept spacebar pressed (infinite jumping with no jumping sound) and jumped trough the levels :D. I think the textures could've been a bit moore simple and cartoony though. More of a (somewhat) interactive adventure than a game. You could've shown a image with the text "Loading..." or something to make it more clear when the game was loading. First Blender-game I've seen so far, impressive stuff!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

CeriseGhost says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:38am

This was a very ambitious project! The game seems to crash for me though after a little bit of time in the level.

Koveryl says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Very fun game. The music and gameplay are great. Running away from the mammoth is nice as well. Good job!

Kingtrez says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Pretty good game. The game size though was pretty large. :o
But oh well. Nice entry

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I liked how low the camera was from the floor, it gave a nice feeling to the environment. Graphics were good too.
However, with that big of a download, I expcted at least some background audio and sound effects.

May 18, 2014 @ 2:49am

There is background audio and sound effects. You can get the EP of the audio here: http://quetzatl.bandcamp.com/album/ice-hop

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]