Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant's Revenge

by shalskar - Jam Entry

Developed by Dan and I. First time Ludum Dare Jam entry so go easy!

Ant's Revenge is a side-scrolling platformer of an ant and his adventures "Beneath the surface".

The game is rather short as we struggled abit with getting the groundwork running.

We also had trouble with some bugs including collision as you will notice.

Overall we are both pretty content as we are both new programmers and the game seems to work (somewhat)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#439Audio(Jam)2.90
#474Humor(Jam)2.31
#593Fun(Jam)2.52
#615Overall(Jam)2.75
#676Graphics(Jam)2.43
#686Mood(Jam)2.28
#748Innovation(Jam)1.87
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

That camera snapping was incredibly nauseating. It was especially bad when you had to do precise platforming, so much so that I had to stop playing. Up to that point it wasn't bad, though the black gem exploding into bats was a dick move.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

First off, something about the ant sprite makes me really like it. Besides that, good foundation but needs work. The camera makes the game very hard to play and my head kept getting stuck in platforms. Good first entry though.

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

Got the following error from JVM launcher when I tried to run: "Invalid or corrupt jarfile" - running Windows 8.1 x64

Evil Scotsman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

The uzi really kept me playing but I wish that it didnt start me back at the start after I died.

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Fixed the camera, we are going to put a level selector in but didn't have enough time to put it in in time for the jam. Thanks for feedback

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

I will agree with some that said the camera moving was weird... and it was easy to get stuck in a block because of the collisions... but besides that, the theme use was good and with fixed collisions i could speed run this game!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

the collision detection is a little rough, kept getting stuck on things. The art style and music reminded me of old windows 95/98 games (not a bad thing, just a statement). Good work!

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Good job! Just freshen up the collision ;)

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good job! As someone said the collision could need some rework, but it was still ok. Music was great and pushed the game a lot....Good stuff

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice, but I would have like if left click meant shooting. Also I could help notice, the lava texture look a lot like mc's.

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Good job for a first try! For platforming collision detection, I find it's often helpful to check on horizontal lines above/below the character as well as vertical lines to the left and right. When those lines are triggered, you can apply force in the opposite direction, preventing the character from traveling 'through' the material (as often happens here when jumping at the smaller platforms from the side).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]