Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape to Below

by Loneshark - Jam Entry

Created by:
Tustin2121
Maverick Loneshark

Code: HTML5, JavaScript, CSS, JQuery
Art: Photoshop
Sound: FamiTracker, and sfxr

Currently the game is unfinished but playable. There is now a link to a doc containing some of the design concepts and experimental ideas we were considering.

*Recommended window size is wider than 1080px and taller than 600px

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#424Fun(Jam)2.92
#532Audio(Jam)2.61
#621Overall(Jam)2.74
#645Graphics(Jam)2.58
#651Humor(Jam)1.57
#680Mood(Jam)2.31
#706Innovation(Jam)2.17
#748Theme(Jam)1.68

Comments

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58am

The sound effects were a bit too loud and drowned out the music, but the music decided to stop anyway. Otherwise, the sound and music are pretty good.

The graphics are decent, but they are a little incongruent. I love the way the buildings look, and the ground looks reminiscent of the ground tiles of old, but they don't exactly compliment each other or the gun towers.

This game is a pretty fun Missile Command clone with a few differences, however, it completely misses the theme.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

Flip it upside down and you're on theme ;)

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

I really like the way the building crumbles down per hit starting from the lights. Plus there are a lot of variants on the enemies!

Loneshark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

In regards to the theme, we originally wanted to make it so that bunkers, turrets, and other structures could be built into the ground (which would expand the screen and create a surprise scroll bar in the process). Unfortunately we ran out of time in our endeavor and the only hints of the theme are the title, the destructible dirt, and an unused HUD in the foreground.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really awesome! I love how it feels like the missles are anticipating you. I don't *think* they are, but it sure feels that way. If it got harder as you progressed, and had an ending, I'd play this a bunch. :)

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

The game got a whole lot more fun once I realised I could machinegun the aliens by clicking really fast :D Good effort!

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:26am

A classic but with nice variations on enemies. But the fact that you have unlimited ammo makes the difficulty pretty trivial. :)

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I really like the enemies' pathing, this is a visually appealing game.

elliottd says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:32am

my missiles were a little unpredictable, sometimes going a bit further than the cursor and sometimes just continuing on without detonating, not sure if this was by design.

AutumnGuy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:53am

Reminds me of Missile Command, which is one of my favorite gaming mechanics, so lots of love from me here. Keep up the work!

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I liked the simplicity but I was expecting some kind of closure when my city was wiped out. Good game overall.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Rad old school arcade experience!

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:49am

Missile command clone, pretty well done! I like the sound effects, and the flashy graphics, as well as the interesting paths the missiles take.

ceosol says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:46am

Good job on this. I agree with the others that the enemy pathing was the best part. Even if there wasn't an end, it would have been nice to see points or something.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:59am

Nice take on missile command. The difficulty ramped up really quickly! (Or maybe I'm just really bad at missile command) The "hopping" missiles were pretty cool, but a huge pain to hit.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:59am

Cool bgm, but the SFX were a little loud. I love missile command, so thought this was cool, though not very relevant to the theme. The unlimited ammo and rate of fire made it very easy, I purposely let myself die a few minutes in and even with two layers of dirt gone didn't get a lose state. I assumed that was a glitch or the game was unfinished.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

A nice old-school style game! The sound was kind of annoying, and the music a bit repetitive. It also doesn't suit the theme very well besides the name. The main problem was that the missiles would often not explode exactly where I clicked, and would sometimes completely fail to explode and just keep going into the sky. However I really liked the look of the game and the way the incoming enemies would change paths.

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice game with good sound effects. The moving patterns of the attacks are great and making the game more challenging. But something seems to be missing, what I don't know. With some more work this could be an awesome game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]